Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 17°C Saturday 8 May 2021

Armagh momentum builds as Rossies fall short in qualifier

Dr. Hyde Park was the venue for the tonight’s clash.

Jamie Clarke celebrates scoring a point.
Jamie Clarke celebrates scoring a point.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Armagh 1-17

Roscommon 1-12

ARMAGH SCORED 1-14 from play despite atrocious conditions to beat Roscommon in their All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Round 3B qualifier in Hyde Park this afternoon.

Tony Kernan and Jamie Clarke amassed 0-4 apiece for Paul Grimley’s men who put the tie beyond any doubt seven minutes from time when Stefan Forker flicked home after a speculative high ball.

Roscommon did score a late goal of their own through Ciaran Murtagh but it was too little, too late for the home side who came into the game as slight favourites.

Armagh looked in control throughout with Stefan Campbell opening the scoring from play after both sides had exchanged frees in the opening minutes.

Indeed, only indiscipline kept Roscommon in touch in the early stages with Diarmuid Murtagh’s free-taking punishing the Orchard.

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

As conditions continued to deteriorate, Aaron Findon fisted a fabulous point to send the 2002 All-Ireland winners in 0-8 to 0-4 up at the break.

After failing to score from play in the first half, Roscommon took only 20 seconds to do so in the second through Kevin Higgins and a Cathal Shine point with 53 minutes on the clock meant the gap was just three points.

However, Armagh stepped up a gear and, with the Rossies failing to take their goal chances, kicked on to record a five point win.

Scorers for Armagh: Tony Kernan 0-4 (0-1f,0-1’45), Jamie Clarke 0-4 (0-1f), Stefan Forker (1-0), Stephen Harold and Kyle Carragher 0-2 each, Andy Mallon, Aaron Findon, Kevin Dyas, Stefan Campbell and Rory Gugan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 0-5 (0-4f), Ciaráin Murtagh 1-0, Cathal Cregg 0-1 (0-1f), Cathal Shine, Kevin Higgins, Enda Smith, Conor Daly, Senan Kilbride and Donie Smith 0-1 each.

1. Philip McEvoy (Dromintee St Patrick’s)

2. James Morgan (Crossmaglen Rangers)
3. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
4. Andy Mallon (Parnells, Dublin)

5. Mark Shields (Whitecross)
20. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore Robert Emmet’s)
7. Ciarán McKeever (Parnells, Dublin)

8. Stephen Harold (Carrickcruppen)
9. Aaron Findon (Naomh Peader)

13. Tony Kernan (Crossmaglen Rangers)
11. Kevin Dyas (Dromintee St Patrick’s)
12. Stefan Campbell (Clan na Gael)

18. Kyle Carragher (Crossmaglen Rangers)
14. Aidan Forker (Maghery)
15. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)

Subs: Eugene McVerry for A Forker (35), Aaron Kernan for Campbell (48), Rory Grugan for T Kernan (50), Finnian Moriarty for Shields (66).

1. Derek O’Malley (Michael Galveys)

3. Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses) (Captain)
2. Seanie McDermott (Western Gaels)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St. Kevin’s)

5. David Keenan (St. Barry’s)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciarán Cafferkey (Western Gaels)

8. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGaeal)
9. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)

17. Ian Kilbride (St. Brigid’s)
11. Enda Smith (Boyle)
19. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)

13. Senan Kilbride (St. Brigid’s)
14. Cathal Gregg (Western Gaels)
15. Diarmuid Murtagh (St. Faithleach’s)

Subs: David O’Gara for Cafferkey (35), Ronan Stack for I Kilbride (48), Donie Smith for E Smith (52), Ciaráin Murtagh for Cregg (60).

Referee: Eddie Kinsella (Laois).

Kildare and Clare unchanged for tonight’s All-Ireland SFC qualifier

5 talking points ahead of this weekend’s GAA football action

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel