This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Sunday 24 March, 2019

Ballygunner capture historic fourth title in a row after dominating eastern rivals

Ballygunner have won their 16th county title.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Ballygunner 2-18
De La Salle 0-16

Tomás McCarthy at Walsh Park

BALLYGUNNER COMPLETED FOUR in a row for the first time in their history as they dominated eastern rivals De La Salle from start to finish in the Waterford Senior Hurling Championship final at Walsh Park this afternoon.

Conor Power goaled in either half for Fergal Hartley’s side while joint captain Pauric Mahony shot nine points (seven frees).

The platform for this latest success was laid in the half back division however where Philip Mahony gave a man-of-the-match display sandwiched between the rock-steady Wayne Hutchinson and Shane Walsh. Salle only mustered five points from play. By contrast, all six Ballygunner attackers raised a flag along with Walsh and Shane O’Sullivan.

10 minutes into this final, the alert Brian O’Sullivan robbed Shane McNulty and supplied Power to rifle past Shaun O’Brien from close range. Three points by wing forward David O’Sullivan powered them six in front after 12 minutes.

Conor Power scores a goal past Shaun O'Brien Conor Power scores a goal past Shaun O'Brien Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

The underdogs narrowed the gap to three as John Mullane opened his account. Peter Hogan and Billy O’Keeffe pushed it back out to five approaching the break. Jack Fagan then sent over a sideline in front of the stand before Shane Ryan posted his fourth free.

Pauric Mahony had the last say of the opening half with a fine strike from midfield to make the score 1-10 to 0-9. There were seven Ballygunner players on the scoresheet by that juncture.

A brace of Mahony dead balls and a Shane Walsh score from play extended the lead to seven. Entering the last quarter, Brian O’Sullivan sliced through the Salle defence and even though O’Brien blocked his rasper, Power was on hand to whip home. Another Mahony free left them ten points to the good at 2-15 to 0-11.

Kevin Moran tried to rouse Salle with a long-distance single, but their challenge was to fizz out. O’Brien saved on the double from Billy O’Keeffe and Wayne Hutchinson before Mahony wrapped it up for the Gunners in added time – their sixteenth county title in total.

Scorers for Ballygunner: Pauric Mahony 0-9 (7fs), Conor Power 2-0, David O’Sullivan 0-3, Brian O’Sullivan 0-2, Peter Hogan, Billy O’Keeffe, Shane Walsh, Shane O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for De La Salle: Shane Ryan 0-8 (8fs), Jack Fagan 0-3 (1f, 1 s-l), Kevin Moran, Paidi Nevin, Adam Farrell, John Mullane, Thomas Douglas (f) 0-1 each.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe

2. Eddie Hayden
3. Barry Coughlan
4. Ian Kenny

6. Wayne Hutchinson
5. Philip Mahony
7. Shane Walsh

8. Harley Barnes
9. Shane O’Sullivan

11. David O’Sullivan
12. Pauric Mahony
15. Billy O’Keeffe

10. Peter Hogan
14. Brian O’Sullivan
13. Conor Power


20. Michael Mahony for Hogan (52)
22. JJ Hutchinson for Power (58)
21. Barry O’Sullivan for Billy O’Keeffe (59)
19. Tim O’Sullivan for David O’Sullivan (63)

De La Salle
1. Shaun O’Brien

2. Stephen Dalton
5. Shane McNulty
4. Michael Doherty

6, Kevin Moran
7. Tom Moran
14. Eoin Madigan

8. Eddie Barrett
11. Jake Dillon

10. Adam Farrell
12. Jack Fagan
13. John Mullane

17. David Greene
9. Paidi Nevin
15. Shane Ryan


21. Eddie Meaney for Madigan (52)
22. Thomas Douglas for Greene (52)
23. Cormac McCann for Ryan (57)

Referee: Tommy O’Sullivan

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Kilmacud Crokes progress to second consecutive Dublin decider after edging out Lucan

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel