Dublin: 2°C Saturday 27 November 2021

Munster junior final wins for Waterford's Ballysaggart and Kerry club Keel

The AIB Munster football and hurling deciders took place in Mallow today.

Image: INPHO/James Crombie

Ballysaggart 3-12
Feenagh-Kilmeedy 0-15

BALLYSAGGART BECAME THE first Waterford club to win the AIB Munster junior hurling championship with success this afternoon in Mallow against Limerick’s Feenagh-Kilmeedy.

Goals were the key for the Waterford club who included the Bennett brothers Stephen, Shane and Kieran in their ranks with Stephen and Shane both having won All-Ireland medals last September.

Stephen struck 1-8 while Shane scored 1-1 to help Ballysaggart triumph in the decider. A Stephen Bennett goal helped them lead 1-8 to 0-9 at the interval.

Goals from Ronan Walsh and Shane Bennett proved crucial in the second-half as Ballysaggart fended off the challenge of their Limerick opponents and ran out six-point winners.

Ballysaggart will now play Connacht representatives, Calry/St Joseph’s from Sligo, at the All-Ireland semi-final stage in late January.


Pic: @tomasmcc

Keel 0-14
Feohanagh-Castlemahon 0-4

KERRY’S DOMINANCE OF the AIB Munster junior club football championship continued at Mallow today with Mid-Kerry side Keel winning this year’s final.

Keel had ten points to spare over their Limerick opponents Feohanagh-Castlemahon to ensure a Kerry club lifted the title for the sixth successive year. In contrast Limerick’s run of defeats continued at this level as a club side from the county list this decider for the fifth time since 2008.

Keel were inspired by attackers Gary Sayers and Liam Sheehan, as they shared 0-12 between them. Both players were members of the Mid Kerry divisional side that won the 2008 Kerry county senior title while Sayers is also a former Sigerson Cup winner with Cork IT.

Keel were ahead by 0-5 to 0-2 at the break and they kicked on the second-half to open up a commanding advantage. The winners had ten points to spare at the final whistle and they now advance to face Roscommon’s Fuerty, who won this year’s Connacht final against Galway side Headford, at the All-Ireland semi-final stage in January.

Louth club Geraldines claim Leinster intermediate football title

St Vincent’s are crowned Leinster senior club champions after six-goal thriller

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel