This Barbarians XV doesn't look likely to go easy on Ulster for Pienaar's farewell

Mike Ross, Roger Wilson and Thierry Dusautoir will be playing their final game of rugby tomorrow.

Mike Ross walks out at Kingspan for the BaaBaas' captain's run.
Mike Ross walks out at Kingspan for the BaaBaas' captain's run.
Image: PressEye/Brian Little/INPHO

IAN MADIGAN AND the retiring Mike Ross have been named in a formidable Barbarians side to face Ulster in Kingspan Stadium tomorrow (19.30).

The match will act as a Ravenhill farewell as Ruan Pienaar departs and Roger Wilson hangs up his boots, but the pedigree of the touring opponents suggests a celebration may not be in store for the hosts.

Alongside Ross in his final match will be former All Black Corey Flynn, with Patricio Albacete, Joe Tekori and the legendary figure of Thierry Dusautoir also in the pack.

Madigan will be partnered by Rory Kockott in a half-back pairing that will hope to get Robbie Freuan, David Smith and Waisea Nayacalevu firing in attack.

Ruan Pienaar Source: Presseye/Brian Little/INPHO

Ulster, who have named Pienaar and Wilson as joint captain, have an additional six internationals in their matchday 24, but Les Kiss has opted to experiment in many areas with U19 wing Mark Keane (Instonians) and the uncapped Matthew Rea and Callum Peterson in the back row and centre respectively.



15. Peter Nelson
14. Mark keane
13. Callum Patterson
12. Stuart Mccloskey
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Brett Herron
9. Ruan Pienaar (Joint captain)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

1. Andy Warwick
2. Rob Herring
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Alan O’Connor
5. Peter Browne
6. Matthew Rea
7. Clive Ross
8. Roger Wilson (Joint captain)


16. John Andrew
17. Kyle McCall
18. Ross Kane
19. Stephen Mulholland
20. Chris Henry
21. Paul Marshall
22. Dave Shanahan
23. Callum Smith
24. Ricky Lutton


15. Alex Goode (Saracens & England)
14. David Smith (Castres)
13. Waisea Nayacalevu (Stade Francais & Fiji)
12. Robbie Fruean (Bath Rugby)
11. Horacio Agulla (Castres & Argentina)
10. Ian Madigan (Bordeaux Begles & Ireland)
9. Rory Kockott (Castres & France);

1. Chris King (Pau)
2. Corey Flynn (Star RFC & New Zealand)
3. Mike Ross (Leinster & Ireland)
4. Paul Willemse (Montpellier)
5. Patricio Albacete (Toulouse & Argentina)
6. Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa)
7. Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse & France, Captain)
8. Facundo Isa (Lyon & Argentina).


16. Richard Hibbard (Gloucester & Wales)
17. Vincent Pelo (La Rochelle & France)
18. Census Johnston (Toulouse & Samoa)
19. Jeremy Thrush (Gloucester & New Zealand)
20. Chris Masoe (Racing Metro & New Zealand)
21. Kahn Fotuali’i (Bath Rugby & Samoa)
22. Brock James (La Rochelle)
23. Jean-Marcellin Buttin (Bordeaux-Begles & France)

No time for postmortems as Ireland look ahead at U20 World Championships

Tommy O’Donnell ruled out injured as Ruddock appointed Ireland captain for summer tour

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: