Dublin: 17°C Tuesday 27 July 2021

Begley returns as Laois and Kildare name teams for Sunday's Leinster SFC games

Begley returns for Laois as Kildare name three debutants for their clash with Louth.

Colm Begley is back.
Colm Begley is back.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

COLM BEGLEY HAS returned to the Laois starting team in their only change for Sunday’s Leinster quarter final against Dublin.

Laois manager Tomás Ó Flatharta has recalled the Parnell’s half back after leaving him out of the side that defeated Wicklow in Round 1. Begley had lined out for his club in the Dublin senior championship in the week prior to that game, against the wishes of his manager.

Young Stephen Attride remains at centre back while Ross Munnelly is named at 13 in his eleventh year with the Laois senior team.

Meanwhile Jason Ryan has named three championship debutants for his first championship match as Kildare manager.

Fergal Conway, Tommy Moolick and Cathal McNally make their first championship starts this Sunday against Louth in Croke Park.

Darroch Mulhall, misses out due to appendicitis, while there’s also no John Doyle in the Kildare attack after he called a halt to his intercounty career earlier this year.

Keith Cribbon comes in to the team at wing back, where younger brother Paul featured for the team last year. He is one of three Johnstownbridge players to start on Sunday, with new AFL recruit Daniel Flynn also hailing from the club who won last year’s county intermediate championship.

The new-look midfield partnership of Hurley and Moolick are two of the six players starters who won last year’s Leinster U21 championship.

Sean Hurley, James Gately and Tommy Moolick dejected after the game Sean Hurley and Tommy Moolick are the new Kildare midfield partnership. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

KILDARE (SF v Louth):

1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)
2. Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge)
3. Michael Foley (Athy)
4. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown)
5. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)
6. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
7. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
8. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)
9. Seán Hurley (Johnstownbridge)
10. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge)
11. Niall Kelly (Athy)
12. Pádraig O’Neill (St Laurence’s)
13. Eamonn Callaghan (Naas)
14. Tomás O’Connor (Clane)
15. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)

Colm Begley Begley watched Laois' last game from the sidelines. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

LAOIS (SF v Dublin):

1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)
2. Padraig McMahon (Ballyroan Abbey)
3. Paul Begley (Stradbally)
4. Peter O’Leary (O’Dempsey’s)
5. Darren Strong (Emo)
6. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)
7. Colm Begley (Parnells)
8. Kevin Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise)
9. John O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s)
10. James Finn (Ballyfin)
11. Donal Kingston (Arles-Kilcruise)
12. Billy Sheehan (Emo)
13. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise)
14. Conor Meredith (O’Dempsey’s)
15. David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise)

Rob Hennelly: ‘I regretted it hugely and it did look like I was never going to get back in’

A decade ago Tomás Ó Flatharta beat the Dubs, can he do it again next Sunday?

Read next: