Sunday 29 January 2023 Dublin: 7°C
Tommy Dickson/INPHO Limerick players celebrate after taking the lead.
Limerick back to winning ways as Bray stumble again
An early goal from Paul O’Conor was enough to secure all three points for the visitors.

Bray Wanderers 0
Limerick 1

Dan Gorman reports from the Carlisle Grounds

LIMERICK STROLLED TO success at the seaside with minimal fuss thanks to Paul O’Conor’s fourth-minute screamer.

Limerick could not have wished for a better start. Tommy Robson chipped the ball forward from left-back and Rodrigo Tosi expertly and deftly touched it back into O’Conor’s path. His strike was unerring and it whistled past a motionless Peter Cherrie.

Wanderers were quite fortunate to only trail by the single goal at the interval as Robbie Williams rattled the crossbar with a superb 27th-minute free-kick that appeared to have Peter Cherrie beaten.

Gary McCabe has five goals to his name this season — one of which was a free last week — but he tamely curled a 53rd minute dead-ball into Brendan Clarke’s arms.

It was the first time that Bray fired a blank this season and it was exactly what they deserved. Their attack lacked any urgency and Limerick handled it with ease to collect their first victory since opening day.

Wanderers’ second defeat on the spin has seen the drop outside of the top four and they continue their quest for a first clean sheet of the season.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Shaun Kelly with Dylan Connolly Tommy Dickson / INPHO Dylan Connolly of Bray Wanderers rides a tackle from Limerick's Shaun Kelly. Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

BRAY WANDERERS: Peter Cherrie; Hugh Douglas, Tim Clancy, Conor Kenna, Conor Earley (Alan Kehoe, 76); John Sullivan, Mark Salmon; Aaron Greene, Gary McCabe (Ryan Brennan, 67), Dylan Connolly; Anto Flood (Jamie Aherne, 68).

LIMERICK: Brendan Clarke; Shaun Kelly, Tony Whitehead, Robbie Williams (David O’Connor, 68), Tommy Robson; Paul O’Conor, Shane Duggan; Ian Turner, Lee J. Lynch (Bastien Hery, 85), Chiedozie Ogbene (Stephen Kenny, 61); Rodrigo Tosi.

Referee: Ray Matthews

Byrne strikes late to extend Bohs’ unbeaten run

St Pat’s stun 10-man Rovers to earn first win of season