This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 19 °C Monday 1 June, 2020

Brendan O'Sullivan to start for the Kerry junior footballers in Munster semi-final

The midfielder has been at the centre of an anti-doping violation case over the past few weeks.

O'Sullivan came off the bench in the 2016 Division 1 league final.
O'Sullivan came off the bench in the 2016 Division 1 league final.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

BRENDAN O’SULLIVAN, the Kerry player at the centre of an anti-doping violation case, has been named to start in midfield for the county’s junior side tomorrow.

News broke two weeks ago that the midfielder failed a Sport Ireland doping control test following the 2016 Allianz League final, testing positive for the stimulant methylhexanamie (MHA), which is typically found in training supplements and energy drinks.

The Kerry GAA board released a statement in the aftermath, saying that the rule violation was not intentional and O’Sullivan had served the resultant suspension.

The Valentia Young Islanders clubman will now take up the number nine position as Kerry face Limerick in the Munster junior football semi-final tomorrow.

In the game which acts as a curtain-raiser at Cusack Park for the Kerry and Clare senior clash, seven previous All-Ireland junior champions will feature for the Kingdom.

James Walsh and Conor Cox won All Ireland titles in 2012 and 2015 while Jack McGuire, O’Sullivan, Philip O’Connor, Jeff O’Donoghue and Killian Spillane were also on the 2015 winning side.

Five players — Michael Foley, Daniel O’Brien, Roibeard Ó Sé, Killian Spillane and Tomás Ó Sé 0 — have all won All-Ireland minor medals in the past three years.

Kerry junior team:

1. Tomas Mac an tSaoir (An Ghaeltacht)

2. Eamonn Kiely (Brosna)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmets)
4. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh-Glencar)

5. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
6. Michael Foley (Ballydonoghue)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Roibeárd Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
9. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia Young Islanders)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Eánna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht)

13. Killian Spillane (Captain) (Templenoe)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets)
15. Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)

Fir Ionaid:

16. Kieran Fitzgibbon (Kenmare Shamrocks)
17. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
18. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
19. Evan Cronin (Spa)
20. Dara Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
21. D.J. Murphy (Gneeveguilla)
22. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
23. P.J. Mac Lámh (An Ghaeltacht)
24. Shane Stack (Moyvane)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

5 changes for Kerry from league final victory as O’Donoghue, Enright and Maher return

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next: