Cathal Noonan/INPHO Cavan's Killian Clarke was in action tonight.
Breffni Brilliance

10th successive Ulster U21 football win for Cavan as they beat Derry tonight

The Breffni County won tonight’s preliminary round clash.

Cavan 3-10
Derry 0-12

CAVAN’S DOMINANCE OF the Ulster U21 football grade continues after they defeated Derry in tonight’s preliminary round clash in Celtic Park.

Cavan have won the last three titles in this grade and they began their bid for a fourth successive crown in impressive fashion away from home.

The Breffni County got off to a perfect start with Joe Dillon finding the net for the opening score of the game. There was then a lengthy delay after Declan Brown went off injured for Derry.

Cavan resumed their dominance with Michael Argue notching a couple of fine points to leave them in front by 1-4 to 0-2 by the 24th minute. Anthony O’Neill helped Derry eat into Cavan’s lead with a couple of fine points.

But Cavan pounced for a crucial second goal before half-time through Enda Flanagan and they were 2-5 to 0-5 to the good at the break. Cavan maintained their advantage on the scoreboard in the third quarter and effectively sealed their victory when Paul Graham bagged their third goal in the 48th minute to propel them ahead by 3-8 to 0-8.

Derry cut the gap with three points on the trot yet Graham hit the insurance points in the finale for Cavan as they set up a semi-final meeting with Tyrone at Kingspan Breffni Park next week.

Scorers for Cavan: Paul Graham 1-3, Joe Dillon 1-1, Michael Argue 0-4, Enda Flanagan 1-0 Kevin Bouchier (0-1f), Conor Madden 0-1 each.
Scorers for Derry:  James Kearney 0-6 (0-4), Anthony O’Neill (0-1f), Ryan Bell (0-1f) 0-2 each, Brian Óg McGilligan, Neil McNicholl 0-1 each.

CAVAN: James Farrelly; Barry Fortune, Killian Clarke, Padraig Faulkner; Gerry Smith, Conor Moynagh, Dara McVitty; Brian Sankey, Michael Argue; Paul Graham, Joe Dillon, Ciaran Brady; Conor Madden, Kevin Bouchier, Enda Flanagan.

DERRY: Sean McNicholl; Fergal Duffin, Gareth McKinless, Declan Brown; Conor Carville, Liam McGoldrick, Conor McAtamney; Brian Óg McGilligan, Peter Cassidy; James Kearney, Ciaran McFaul, Eoin Duffy; Terence O’Brien, Ryan Bell, Anthony O’Neill.

Royal Replay – Meath defeat Louth to set up Leinster U21 semi-final with Offaly

Roscommon put four goals past Mayo to claim comfortable Connacht U21 football win

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.