Dublin: 14°C Sunday 22 May 2022

Champions 15 winners announced for Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups

The awards will be presented at Friday night’s Allstars banquet at Croke Park.

Down's Paul Braniff.
Down's Paul Braniff.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

THE GAA HAVE announced the ‘Champions 15′ award winners from this year’s Christy Ring Cup, Nicky Rackard Cup and Lory Meagher Cup.

These awards will be presented at Friday night’s GAA/GPA Opel Allstars banquet at Croke Park.

Champions Down lead the way in the Christy Ring Cup side with four representatives while Kerry, Kildare, Meath, Mayo, Derry, Wicklow and Armagh are also honoured.

Christy Ring Cup Champions 15
Paul Braniff (Down), Gareth Johnson (Down), Connor Woods (Down), Patrick Hughes (Down), Bernard Rochford (Kerry), Darren Dineen (Kerry), Shane Nolan (Kerry), Fiachra Ó Muineacháin (Kildare), Gerard Keegan (Kildare), Steven Clynch (Meath), Sean Heavey (Meath), Derek McDonnell (Mayo), Paddy Kelly (Derry), Liam Kennedy (Wicklow), Nathan Curry (Armagh).

Donegal have the biggest representation with four on the Nicky Rackard Cup taem. Roscommon, Monaghan, Louth, Sligo and Tyrone players also feature.

Nicky Rackard Cup Champions 15
Christopher McDermott (Donegal), Sean McVeigh (Donegal), Lee Henderson (Donegal), Danny Cullen (Donegal), Shane Curley (Roscommon), Gerry Fallon (Roscommon), Ronan O’Meara (Roscommon), Peter Treanor (Monaghan), Trevor Hilliard (Monaghan), David Dunne (Louth), Shane Callan (Louth), Liam Reidy (Sligo), Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch (Sligo), Martin Grogan (Tyrone), Damian Casey (Tyrone).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member


Donegal celebrate their Nicky Rackard Cup triumph.
Pic: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Finally Warwickshire have four players in the Lory Meagher Cup line-up. Longford, Leitrim and Fermanagh also have players selected.

Lory Meagher Cup Champions 15
Tom Goulding (Warwickshire), Eamon Gleeson (Warwickshire), Paddy Duggan (Warwickshire), Donncha Kennedy (Warwickshire), Sean Hennessy (Warwickshire), Eanna Daly (Longford), Conor Egan (Longford), Joe O’Brien (Longford), Eoin Donnellan (Longford), Michael Poniard (Leitrim), Vincent McDermott (Leitrim), Clement Cunniffe (Leitrim), John Duffy (Fermanagh), Karl Kehoe (Fermanagh), Eoin Mahon (Fermanagh).

Cork’s Ciaran Sheehan to join AFL club Carlton Blues

VIDEO: The GAA rule changes for 2014 explained

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: