Thursday 26 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
INPHO/Dan Sheridan Galway's Padraig Brehony and Clare's Colm Galvin in action here in 2011 All Ireland minor semi final.
# starting XV
Senior stars to backbone Clare U21 hurling team for Galway clash
Galway include two senior players in their attack for the game.

FIVE PLAYERS WHO featured for the Clare senior side in last Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final have been named on the county U21 team for tomorrow’s Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21 hurling semi-final against Galway.

The Banner have kept faith with the team that defeated Tipperary by 1-17 to 2-10 in the Munster U21 final earlier this month, as they get set for the tie in Semple Stadium at 6pm.

And they are able to call on four players who started for the Clare senior side last Sunday in full-back David McInerney, midfield duo Colm Galvin and Tony Kelly, and centre-forward Padraic Collins.

Corner-forward Shane O’Donnell also came on as a late substitute in Croke Park against Limerick last Sunday.

In addition wing-back Seadna Morey and wing-forwards Peter Duggan and Aaron Cunningham have all featured at some stage in the championship for Davy Fitzgerald’s senior side this summer.

CLARE: Ronan Taaffe (Tubber); Paul Flanagan (Ballyea), David McInerney (Tulla), Jack Browne (Ballyea); Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge), Alan O’Neill (St. Josephs Doora Barefield), Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle); Colm Galvin (Clonlara), Tony Kelly (Ballyea); Peter Duggan (Clooney Quin), Padraic Collins (Cratloe), Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones); Shane O’Donnell (Eire Og), David O’Halloran (Eire Og), Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara).

Clare’s opponents Galway include Conor Cooney and Jonathan Glynn, who both featured for the senior side in last month’s All-Ireland quarter-final loss to the Banner, in their U21 attack.

St Thomas All-Ireland club winner Darragh Burke starts at centre-back while Tom Flynn, who won an All-Ireland U21 football medal with Galway in May, is named at wing-forward.

2012 Galway minors Paul Killeen, Barry Keane, Jason Flynn & Cathal Mannion are all included in the team as well.

GALWAY: Shane Mannion (Clarinbridge); Paul Killeen (Tynagh Abbey Duniry), John Hanbury (Rahoon Newcastle), Barry Keane (Clarinbridge); Paul Huban (Loughrea), Darragh Burke (St Thomas), Matthew Keating (Turloughmore); Adrian Tuohy (Beagh), Paul Claffey (Cappataggle); Thomas Flynn (Athenry), Conor Cooney (St Thomas), Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan); Padraig Brehony (Tynagh Abbey Duniry), Cathal Mannion (Ahasrcragh Fohenagh), Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins).

Leinster champions Wexford make one change for their All-Ireland U21 semi-final against Antrim tomorrow in Semple Stadium at 4pm.

Aaron Kenny comes into the team at midfield instead of Jack Hobbs. Star minor attacker Conor McDonald has overcome a knee ligament injury to start in the full-forward line.

The team will be captained by senior player Lee Chin at midfield after he has also shaken off a knee complaint.

Niall Murphy, who came on as a substitute in the Leinster final win over Kilkenny, is unavailable after being involved in a car crash recently.

Antrim have yet to announce their side for the game.

WEXFORD: Brian Murphy (Shelmaliers); Garret Foley (Fethard), Conor Goff (Oulart The Ballagh), Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna); Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley), Shane O’Gorman (Adamstown), Dermot O’Leary (St. Pat’s Camolin); Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers), Aaron Kenny (Oulart The Ballagh); Jack Guiney (Rathnure), Ian Byrne (Ferns), Garry Moore (Glyn-Barntown); Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna), Barry Carton (Cloughbawn), Rhys Clarke (Faythe Harriers).

Gavin insists Dubs captain Cluxton is fit for Kerry clash

Ladies football: teams, odds and predictions for tomorrow’s quarter-finals