This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

Clare book semi-final showdown with Kerry as they prove too strong for Limerick

The Banner’s impressive season continued at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick's Pete Nash in pursuit of Pearse Lillis of Clare.
Limerick's Pete Nash in pursuit of Pearse Lillis of Clare.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Clare 0-16
Limerick 0-13

CLARE MAINTAINED THEIR hold over neighbours Limerick with a third successive championship win to progress to the last four in Munster in the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

Despite the glorious sunshine, a crowd of only 3,343 came out to witness the Allianz League Division 3 champions hold off the obstinate challenge of their hosts thanks in the main to seven different second-half scorers.

It wasn’t the greatest of Munster Championship launches, with the sides sharing nine wides in the opening eight minutes — six of those coming from the home side who started the brighter but failed to show it on the scoreboard.

Limerick did finally get off the mark in the 10th minute with successive points from captain Ian Ryan and Cian Sheehan to eventually lead by 0-3 to 0-1 by the end of the opening quarter.

However, while their opponents started to catch their hosts on the wide count, Clare did settle as the half developed and finished with four of the last five points culminating in an inspirational point through substitute Podge Collins to edge his side 0-5 to 0-4 in front by the break.

After an early goal chance for Keelan Sexton cleared the crossbar, Clare would maintain that cushion in a seesaw second period in which Ian Ryan’s free predominantly kept up Limerick’s challenge on the scoreboard.

Danny Neville and Sean Collins Limerick's Danny Neville is challenged by Sean Collins of Clare. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Clare substitutes Podge Collins and Shane McGrath both scored as Clare edged three in front entering the final 10 minutes, a margin that they would be able to hold to the finish to set-up a semi-final showdown away to Kerry in a fortnight’s time.

Scorers for Clare: David Tubridy (2f), Jamie Malone 0-3 each; Keelan Sexton, Padraic Collins, Eoin Cleary 0-2 each; Cathal O’Connor, Sean Collins, Shane McGrath, Gary Brennan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Ian Ryan 0-8 (7f); Danny Neville 0-2 (1f); Cian Sheehan, Seanie Buckley, Stephen Cahill 0-1 each.


1. Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)

2. Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
3. Kevin Harnett (Meelick)
4. Martin McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

7. Sean Collins (Cratloe)
6. Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown)
5. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

8. Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9. Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)

12. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
10. Jamie Malone (Corofin)
13. Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)

11. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
14. David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15. Pat Burke (Kilmacud Crokes)


18. Padraic Collins (Cratloe) for O’Connor (33, inj)
17. Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis) for Lillis (48)
20. Seanie Malone (St Joseph’s Miltown) for Kelly (50, BC)
21. Shane Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane) for O’Dea (57)
19. Enda Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane) for Burke (57)


16. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen)

2. Johnny McCarthy (St Kieran’s)
3. Padraig Browne (Fr. Casey’s)
4. Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins)

5. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)
6. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
7. Paul White (Rathkeale)

8. Cian Sheehan (Newcastlewest)
9. Darragh Treacy (St Kieran’s)

10. Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher/Broadford)
13. Ian Ryan (St Senan’s)
12. Seanie Buckley (Dromcollogher/Broadford)

22. Sean McSweeney (St Kieran’s)
14. Danny Neville (Ballysteen)
11. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)


26. Eoin Hogan (Na Piarsaigh) for McSweeney (29)
23. Killian Ryan (Mungret) for Noonan (56)
19. Paul Hannon (Newcastlewest) for Fanning (59)
25. Hugh Bourke (Adare) for Hogan (63)
20. Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford) for White (72)

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Robbie Henshaw’s socks, Westmeath hurling nerves and more in our tweets of the week

Managerial arsery returns to the Premier League and more of the week’s best sportswriting

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next: