This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 4 °C Wednesday 13 November, 2019

Clonlara end Cratloe's Clare senior double bid as Patrickswell book Limerick hurling final spot

Clare senior hurler Conor McGrath went off injured for Cratloe.

Darach Honan (Clonlara) and Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) both clinched county final spots today.
Darach Honan (Clonlara) and Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) both clinched county final spots today.

Clare SHC

2015 FINALISTS CLONLARA are back in another Clare senior hurling decider after today’s semi-final win as they ended Cratloe’s double dream at Cusack Park in Ennis.

Cratloe are involved in next Sunday’s senior football decider against Kilmurry-Ibrickane but lost out 1-18 to 1-16 in this hurling clash with Clonlara now having a chance to atone for last year’s final loss to Sixmilebridge.

Clonlara were in front 0-5 to 0-4 after 11 minutes and had increased their advantage to three points – 0-12 to 0-9 – by the interval.

A goal for Clonlara from Michael O’Loughlin in the second-half stretched their advantage further. Cratloe cut the deficit through a goal from Conor McGrath but the Clare senior hurler then suffered an injury and was forced off.

Clonlara will now face Ballyea in the final and will hope to add to their previous title win in 2008.

Limerick SHC

There’s now only three clubs left in the race for the Limerick senior hurling title with Patrickswell clinching a final place today while the other semi-final will be contested by Adare and Ballybrown.

With Na Piarsiagh – the reigning All-Ireland club kingpins knocked out earlier this season – and now Kilmallock having exited, it means the two clubs that have lifted the last six Limerick crowns are out of the running in 2016.

Patrickswell saw off Kilmallock by 1-19 to 1-15 today in the Gaelic Grounds and are back in the final for the second successive year. They were in front 1-9 to 1-8 at the break with Kevin O’Brien bagging their goal while Robbie Egan netted for Kilmallock.

In the quarter-final replay at the same venue, Ballybrown saw off Ahane by 1-20 to 2-13. Kyle Loftus raised the green flag for the winners while Niall Moran and Mike Carr struck the goals for Ahane.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Kerry senior football semi-final draw made after Rathmore and Kenmare advance

Ballincollig and Carbery Rangers set up Cork final repeat as champs Nemo bow out

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: