Sunday 29 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
James Crombie/INPHO
# Dual Stars
Podge and Galvin star as Cratloe complete double while Ballylanders win the Limerick SFC
The Limerick legend and Clare’s dual star got amongst the scores today.

CRATLOE HAVE COMPLETED their second county championship success within a week, following up on last weekend’s hurling final heroics with today’s football final win.

Within just fifteen minutes the dual club led by 2-4 to 0-2 thanks to goals from Conor McGrath and none other than Podge Collins.

Collins would go onto add a number of points, exerting a strong influence on proceedings along with fellow intercounty hurlers Cathal McInerney and the game’s opening goalscorer Mcgrath. While Clare hurlers Conor Ryan, Sean Collins and Liam Markham were also to the fore.

Padraic Collins celebrates scoring his side's second goal James Crombie / INPHO Podge Collins. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Another big name within the Cratloe ranks was new transfer John Galvin, and the Limerick star was a late change to the starting fifteen in place of Shane O’Leary.

The big midfielder got the second half scoring under way as his effort opened up a 2-7 to 0-8 lead and although Eire Óg remained somewhat competitive throughout a margin of five points was the closest they could get to the reigning champions during the second period.

John Galvin and Shane Daniels James Crombie / INPHO Limerick's John Galvin in action today for Cratloe. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Meanwhile in Limerick Ballylanders won their fourth ever senior title and first in seven years.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Limerick county attacker Eoin Hanrahan got St Patrick’s first point of the day after eight minutes although his team would only muster three more in each half thereafter.

It must be noted that the game’s opening 1-10 came from open play in a great showing of clean and honest football by both teams.

A first Ballylanders goal by James Kirby on 22 minutes and a second within the first ten minutes of the second half proved crucial and so the four time champions now go on to the Munster championship.

Clare SFC final

Cratloe 2-12 Eire Og Ennis 0-11

Limerick SFC final

St Patricks 1-7 Ballylanders 2-8

Shane Curran names the top 5 attackers he’s faced during his career and why