Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Sunday 24 January 2021

The Nire end Kilrossanty dreams in Waterford decider, while Moyle Rovers enjoy Tipperary success

St Joseph’s Miltown won their second county crown in four years in the Clare SFC final.

THE NIRE ARE the Waterford SFC champions for the third time since 2014, beating Kilrossanty in this evening’s final.

Kilrossanty were seeking their first county title in 29 years, but the more experienced The Nire outfit edged a low-scoring affair by 0-9 to 0-7.

St Joseph’s Miltown enjoyed a 0-14 to 0-8 victory against Ennistymon in the Clare SFC final earlier today. They secured a second crown in four years after a storming finish in front of 5,533 at Cusack Park, with Eoin Cleary contributing 0-5 for the victors.

Finally, Moyle Rovers lifted the Tipperary SFC crown for the eighth time in their history after defeating Ardfinnan by 1-15 to 1-7. Shane Foley grabbed 1-2 and Liam Boland shot 0-6 for Rovers, who had Dubai-based Peter Acheson at midfield.

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel