Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 7°C
# New Face
Seven changes for Connacht as new signing Ili gets first start
Kieran Marmion is back in the number nine shirt for Pat Lam’s side.

PAT LAM HAS made seven personnel changes to his Connacht team for Sunday’s Champions Cup visit to Zebre [3.15pm Irish time, BT Sport], with recent signing Stacey Ili set to make his first start on the left wing.

Kieran Marmion is back at scrum-half after being used off the bench in last weekend’s stirring home victory against Toulouse, while Peter Robb comes into the centre in place of Bundee Aki, who drops to the bench.

Connacht’s Stacey Ili Inpho / Billy Stickland Former Auckland back Ili starts on the left wing. Inpho / Billy Stickland / Billy Stickland

Tiernan O’Halloran misses out through injury, prompting Ili’s inclusion, with the in-form Cian Kelleher moving to fullback.

JP Cooney and Shane Delahunt come into the Connacht front row, with Finlay Bealham slotting over to the tighthead side after wearing the number one shirt last time out.

Quinn Roux is named to start in the second row again, having dropped out of the Toulouse clash at a late stage, and he partners Andrew Browne with Ultan Dillane on the bench.

The only change to the back row sees Sean O’Brien – so impressive off the bench in round one – take over from Eoin McKeon on the blindside.


15. Cian Kelleher
14. Niyi Adeolokun
13. Peter Robb
12. Craig Ronaldson
11. Stacey Ili
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. JP Cooney
2. Shane Delahunt
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Quinn Roux
5. Andrew Browne
6. Sean O’Brien
7. Jake Heenan
8. John Muldoon (captain)


16. Dave Heffernan
17. Dominic Robertson-McCoy
18. Conor Carey
19. Ultan Dillane
20. Eoin McKeon
21. Caolin Blade
22. Shane O’Leary
23. Bundee Aki


15. Edoardo Padovani
14. Gabriele Di Giulio
13. Giulio Bisegni
12. Tommaso Boni
11. Giambattista Venditti
10. Carlo Canna
9. Marcello Violi

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

1. Andrea Lovotti
2. Oliviero Fabiani
3. Pietro Ceccarelli
4. Quintin Geldenhuys
5. George Biagi
6. Maxime Mbanda
7. Johan Meyer
8. Dries van Schalkwyk


16. Tommaso D’Apice
17. Bruno Postiglioni
18. Guillermo Roan
19. Josh Furno
20. Federico Ruzza
21. Guglielmo Palazzani
22. Tommy Castello
23. Giovanni D’Onofrio

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Sean O’Brien back and on the blindside for Leinster’s trip to Montpellier

Piutau and Pienaar fit to start in Ulster’s huge Exeter clash

Your Voice
Readers Comments