This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 23 February, 2019

Cadogan and Horgan the scoring stars as Cork land Munster title against Clare

45,558 in attendance in Thurles today.

Cork 1-25
Clare 1-20

Fintan O’Toole reports from Semple Stadium

THEY DID NOT feature in many pre-summer forecasts to be crowned Munster hurling champions but Cork concluded their provincial campaign in style this afternoon.

They saw off Clare to add to the earlier victories over Tipperary and Waterford, capping a remarkable turnaround in fortunes for Kieran Kingston’s side in 2017.

Alan Cadogan scores the opening goal Alan Cadogan fires home Cork's opening goal. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Patrick Horgan and Alan Cadogan pointed the way with some stunning markmanship. Horgan finished with 0-13 – ten from placed balls – while Cadogan bagged 1-4 from play.

From the off Cadogan was in a threatening mood and he made his mark to telling effect in the 12th minute. Luke Meade’s delivery fell perfectly for the Douglas man, who turned, had the presence of mind to bounce the ball on the ground back up to him and surged clear before finishing low to the net with assurance off his left side.

By half-time Cadogan had 1-2 from play to his credit and his marker Oisin O’Brien had been withdrawn by the 33rd minute as Seadna Morey was assigned to defensive duties.

John Conlon with Colm Spillane Clare's John Conlon and Cork's Colm Spillane Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Clare had a clear goal chance of their own in the 19th minute when a penalty was awarded for a Shane O’Donnell free. Tony Kelly sized it up but his shot flew over the bar and even though that tied the teams at 1-3 to 0-6, Cork then took over proceedings.

Five points in a row courtesy of Conor Lehane, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Horgan (2) and Cadogan sent the Rebels spirits soaring. They were fortunate to still be able to call upon Horgan after he was shown a yellow card following a high challenge in the 21st minute on Patrick O’Connor.

Cork were in front 1-10 to 0-8 at the interval but were forced to sweat at stages during the second half, particularly when Clare notched a superb goal in the 54th minute.

John Conlon bustled through to offload to Conor McGrath who crisply finished a low shot past Anthony Nash in the Cork goal.

Clare capitalised on that to cut the deficit to two points and that was the margin they faced again at 1-22 to 1-20 entering injury-time when McGrath pointed.

However Cork finished the game in a powerful fashion. Damien Cahalane produced a stunning solo run to pave the way for a Horgan point before Cadogan and Horgan from a free pushed Cork’s winning margin out to five.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-13 (0-10f), Alan Cadogan 1-4, Seamus Harnedy, Mark Coleman (0-1 sideline) 0-2 each, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Conor Lehane, Shane Kingston, Luke Meade 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-10 (0-6f, 0-1 pen), Conor McGrath 1-1, John Conlon 0-2, David McInerney, Seadna Morey, Aaron Cunningham, Jason McCarthy, Colm Galvin, Podge Collins, Aron Shanagher 0-1 each.

Cork team are greeted by supporters The Cork players greeted by fans before the game Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


21. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields) for Kingston (57)
24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) for Fitzgibbon (60)
25. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Meade (65)

Shane O'Donnell Clare forward Shane O'Donnell Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)

4. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber – captain)
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
7. Oisín O’Brien (Clonlara)

2. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
10. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

9. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)

14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
15. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)


20. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) for O’Brien (32)
18. David Reidy (Éire Óg) for Collins (half-time)
17. Cian Dillon (Crusheen) for O’Connor (42)
19. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for Shanagher (60)
22. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin) for Malone (65)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

17 point win for Cork delivers first Munster minor hurling title since 2008 in style

Roscommon put poor league form behind them with a stunning Connacht final victory over Galway

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: