Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Wednesday 25 November 2020

Cork's late show secures hurling qualifier victory against 14-man Dublin

A vital win for the Rebels tonight.

Alan Cadogan struck Cork's first-half goal.
Alan Cadogan struck Cork's first-half goal.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 1-26
Dublin 1-23

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

A PULSATING ALL-IRELAND senior hurling encounter at Páirc Uí Rinn this evening ended with Cork finishing the stronger to see off the challenge of 14-man Dublin.

With four minutes of normal time left, the visitors had drawn level at 1-22 each after four consecutive points but the lead couldn’t be procured, with Eamon Dillon shooting wide.

Having been let-off, Cork went back in front through Bill Cooper and that was followed by Conor Lehane’s third point.

Dublin still had time and David Treacy’s free, his ninth point, gave them hope but their only chance of an equaliser saw Aidan Walsh produce a superb hook on Daire Plunkett.

With the next play, Lorcán McLoughlin delivered the ball to Alan Cadogan, whose excellent point from the left brought him to a 1-5 total and Patrick Horgan made sure of things with his 12th point of the night.

The bottom line is that Cork are in Monday morning’s second-round draw, but while this was an improvement on the Munster loss to Tipperary, another step up will be required.

Kieran Kingston’s side had nine first-half wides and might have been punished but for Dublin’s own troubles in front of goal, with Treacy and Paul Ryan both wasteful.

Cadogan was Cork’s shining light in attack, scoring 1-3 from four opportunities, the goal well set up by the hardworking Luke O’Farrell in the 25th minute. That made it 1-6 to 0-7 and by half-time it was 1-10 to 0-11, with Dublin having lost wing-back Chris Crummey to a second yellow card.

For the second half, Cork brought on Conor O’Sullivan to play the free role and he did so in a clever fashion while Horgan’s frees edged them further ahead.

At the other end, Cork needed goalkeeper Anthony Nash in good form to deny Mark Schutte and Chris Bennett – who finished with four points – but a ’65 following the latter effort from Treacy, and then a free by the same player, reduced the margin to two, 1-15 to 0-16, again.

Dublin were ahead when Dillon goaled from Bennett’s nice pass but sub Daniel Kearney, Cadogan and Horgan ensured that its effect was eradicated quickly.

Horgan, Lehane, Brian Lawton and Kearney again were on target as Cork moved 1-22 to 1-18 clear but Dublin’s flurry brought them level once more, the fifth time the sides had been level since the scoring opened.

Crucially, Cork didn’t trail and they had enough nous to push on again and claim the win.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-12 (8f), Alan Cadogan 1-5, Conor Lehane 0-3, Daniel Kearney 0-2, William Egan, Bill Cooper, Luke O’Farrell, Brian Lawton 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: David Treacy 0-9 (7f, 1 65), Chris Bennett, Paul Ryan (4f) 0-4 each, Eamon Dillon 1-0, Shane Barrett, Niall McMorrow 0-2 each, Johnny McCaffrey, Chris Crummey 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Killian Burke (Midleton)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
6. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
5. Cormac Murphy (Blackrock)

7. William Egan (Kilbrin)
9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

15. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
10. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
11. John Cronin (Lisgoold)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)


17. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields) for Murphy (half-time)
22. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields) for Cronin (46)
24. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Egan (49)
20. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk) for Burke (63)
26. Shane Kingston (Douglas) for Harnedy (67)


1. Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
3. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
18. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

7. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfield)
6. Liam Rushe (St Patrick’s)
5. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

9. John McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

12. David Treacy (Cuala)
10. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)

13. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
24. Chris Bennett (Faughs)
15. Mark Schutte (Cuala)


17. Niall Corcoran (Kilmacud Crokes) for Madden (half-time)
23. Seán Treacy (Cuala) for Ryan (44)
20. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala) for McCaffrey (46)
26. Fiontán McGibb (Setanta) for Schutte (63)
8. Daire Plunkett (St Brigid’s) for Bennett (67)

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Shanagher hits 4 goals for Clare as they hammer Laois by 35 points in Ennis

Donegal make it 6 Ulster finals in a row with semi-final replay success over Monaghan

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: