This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 21 July, 2019

7 goals for Cork hurlers as they cruise to 21-point victory over Limerick at Gaelic Grounds

Two goals apiece today for Patrick Horgan and Shane Kingston.

Alan Cadogan was in sparkling form today for the Cork hurlers
Alan Cadogan was in sparkling form today for the Cork hurlers
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork 7-22
Limerick 1-19

Jackie Cahill reports from Gaelic Grounds

KIERAN KINGSTON’S CORK went goal crazy against Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds – hammering SEVEN past the Shannonsiders in this afternoon’s Co-Op Superstores Munster senior hurling league clash.

The Rebels made light work of their opponents as All-Star nominee Alan Cadogan scored one and was involved in three of Cork’s goals.

Patrick Hogan and Shane Kingston helped themselves to a brace of green flags each while there were also majors for Luke Meade and Michael O’Halloran, who netted with his first involvement after coming on as a second half sub.

It may only be January but this is a worrying setback for Limerick, who face a trip to face Clare in Sixmilebridge on Wednesday.

In front of 1,625 spectators, Cork led comfortably at half-time, in mild but greasy conditions, on a 3-12 to 1-9 scoreline.

Goals proved crucial as Meade, Cadogan and Kingston, son of manager Kieran, netted in the first half.

Cadogan looked particularly lively inside while Mark Coleman also caught the eye with a couple of long-range scores from distance.

Limerick did get off to a decent start, Barry Nash netting in the third minute, but once Cork took over they gained a firm stranglehold on proceedings.

Approaching the break, Cork’s lead was ten points and they settled for a nine-point advantage at the break.

Darragh Fitzgibbon with Paul Browne Cork's Darragh Fitzgibbon and Paul Browne of Limerick Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork’s opening goal was supplied by Meade in the 7th minute and it was a fine effort.

The Newcestown man brilliantly controlled Bill Cooper’s sideline cut before crashing a drive past Barry Hennessy.

Cadogan goaled in the 15th minute, collecting a lovely pass from Lorcán McLoughlin before skipping inside Richie English to find the net.

And Kingston finished off a fine team move five minutes before the break for Cork’s third green flag.

Limerick had Kevin O’Brien in good form early on but a much-changed team from the opening day victory over Waterford slumped after that bright opening.

Limerick did bring some big guns off the bench for the second half, including returning James Ryan and All-Star nominee Diarmaid Byrnes, but Cork didn’t let up.

Horgan goaled in the 39th minute after good work from Cadogan and goal number five had Cadogan’s stamp on it again, Mike Casey blocking his shot before Horgan applied a simple finish to the loose ball.

Patrick Horgan shoots past Barry Hennessy Patrick Horgan amongst Cork's goalscorers today Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cadogan placed Kingston, who took a lovely line of running to collect the pass, for a 53rd minute goal and the rout was complete when O’Halloran netted in the 59thminute, Horgan the creator this time.

Stephen McDonnell and Colin Ryan Stephen McDonnell and his Cork teammates claimed a comfortable win today. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 2-5 (0-3f), Shane Kingston 2-2, Alan Cadogan 1-4, Luke Meade & Michael O’Halloran 1-0 each, Bill Cooper 0-3, Mark Coleman, Darragh Fitzgibbon & Robbie O’Flynn 0-2 each, Daniel Kearney & Billy Hennessy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 0-11 (0-8f), Barry Nash 1-0, Kevin O’Brien 0-3, Alan Dempsey, David Dempsey, Diarmaid Byrnes, James Ryan & Paul Browne 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

5. Chris O Leary (Valley Rovers)
6. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
11. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadagon (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
20. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)


19.Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers) for Meade (52)
18. Cormac Murphy (Mallow) for Kearney (59)
21. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock) for Cadogan (59)
17. Jack Sheehan (Erins Own) for McDonnell (60)
24. Bill Hennessy (St Finbarr’s) for Fitzgibbon (62)


1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
3. Richie English (Doon)
4. Seanie O Brien (Patrickswell)

5. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
6. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
7. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla)

8. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
9. Pat Ryan (Doon)

10. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
12. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)

13. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
14. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
15. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)


26. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh) for Condon (inj., 31)
19. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh) for A Dempsey (h.t.)
23. James Ryan (Garryspillane) for O’Donovan (h.t.)
18. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell) for Morrissey (h.t.)
25. Paul Browne (Bruff) for P Ryan (47)

Referee: Philip Kelly (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Up and running – new Clare bosses off to winning start with Collins netting against Kerry

Savage stars as Kerry defeat Cork to set up McGrath Cup final meeting with Limerick

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: