Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Monday 18 January 2021

Cork crowned Munster hurling champions with narrow win over Limerick

The Rebels triumphed at home to Limerick tonight.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork 0-20
Limerick 0-18

Stephen Walsh reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

CORK RETAINED THE Munster intermediate hurling title for the second year in a row after a two point victory in Páirc Ui Rinn in front of 1,774 spectators tonight.

Cork had the better start getting the scoreboard moving going 0-3 to 0-0 ahead after nine minutes. Limerick relied on four pointed frees from Willie Griffin throughout the opening half to stay within range of the defending Munster champions.

Cork dominated proceedings with further points from the accurate Noel McNamara and Murphy who proved a handful for Limerick’s defence.

The Limerick midfield won possession nearing half time and senior panellist Tom Morrissey made best use of the ball scoring four points to leave Limerick trailing 0-11 to 0-8 at the break against the wind.

Ronan Dwane Cork intermediate boss Ronan Dwane Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The visitors used the wind to their best of their advantage in the second half with Diarmaid Byrnes excelling for Limerick at centre back scoring 0-5.

Cork was reliant on McNamara’s frees to keep the scoreboard ticking over to put 0-16 to 0-12 ahead on 43 minutes. Cork substitute Kevin O’Neill scored two points to keep the lead to five points.

With five to go Limerick were five down and despite reducing the lead to two points with points from Byrnes and Mike Fitzgibbon, time ran out ensuring Cork retained the cup.

Scorers for Cork: Noel McNamara (0-8, 7f), Tony Murphy (0-4), Willie Leahy, Kevin O’Neill, Donncha O’Donovan (2f) (0-2 each), Michael Collins, Shane McCarthy, (0-1 each)

Scorers for Limerick: Willie Griffin (4f), Diarmuid Byrnes (2f) (0-5 each,) Tom Morrissey (0-4), Robert O’Donnell, Richie English, Mike Fitzgibbon, Darragh O’Donovan (0-1 each)

Tom Morrissey Tom Morrissey hit 0-4 for Limerick tonight. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO


1. Paudgie Buckley (Mallow)

2. Barra Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr)
3. Ed Finn (Ballinhassig)
4. Greg Murphy (Newcestown)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline) (Capt)
6. Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig)
7. Tomas Lawerence (Brian Dillons)

8. Martin Brennan (Fermoy)
9. Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig)

10. Willie Leahy (Aghada)
11. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)
12. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

13. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
14. Fintan O’Leary (Ballinhassig)
15. Tony Murphy (Carrigaline)

20 Kevin O’Neill (Watergrasshill) for Brennan (31)
19 Ciaran O’Brien (St. Ita’s) for Finn (38)
23 Andrew Cagney (Charleville) for O’Leary (55)
21 Aaron Sheehan for McNamara (59)


1. Brian Murray (Patrickswell)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
4. Mike Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

5. Denis Moloney (Doon)
6. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
7. Barry Lynch (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)

8. Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen)
9. Andrew Brennan (Caherline)

10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
11. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell)
12. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)

13. Willie Griffin (Adare)
14. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
15. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)

22 Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh) for K O’Brien (27)
21 Richie English (Doon) for Moloney (37)
19 Mike Fitzgerald (Doon) for Griffin (42)
23 Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen) for O’Donovan (57)

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

Cork hurlers unveil side for crunch qualifier clash with Clare

Wexford hammer Kilkenny by 17 points to claim Leinster U21 hurling three-in-a-row

About the author:

Stephen Walsh

Read next: