Dublin: 16°C Monday 27 June 2022

Cork have named their U21 football and minor hurling teams for Munster clashes

The Rebel underage teams face big clashes with Tipperary and Limerick this week

Cork U21 football manager Sean Hayes has revealed his hand
Cork U21 football manager Sean Hayes has revealed his hand

CORK HAVE NAMED their U21 football and minor hurling teams for this week’s big provincial clashes.

The Rebels will take on Tipperary in Thurles on Thursday evening, seeking a fifth successive EirGrid provincial U21 crown (7.30pm). And the Leesiders begin their quest for a first Munster Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling title since 2008 when they host Limerick on Wednesday evening at Páirc Uí Rinn (7pm).

Cork U21 football boss Sean Hayes has included 13 of the team that started the semi-final victory over Kerry in his line-up to face Tipp. Cian Kiely and Conor Horgan come into the team as Kevin Crowley is ruled out through injury, with Kevin Davis dropping to the bench.

Influential midfielder Ian Maguire is still ruled out with a back injury.

Cork U21 football team:

1.   Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2.   Michael McSweeney (Newcestown)
3.   Tom O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
4.   Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

5.   Jamie Davis (Douglas)
6.   Sean White (Clonakilty)
7.   Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)

8.   Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
9.   Dan O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers)

10. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh) Capt.
11. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
12. Darragh Murphy (Valley Rovers)

13. Cathal Vaughan (Uibh Laoire)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Conor Horgan (Nemo Rangers)


16. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

17. Dylan Quinn (St. Finbarrs)

18. Colm Hyde (Naomh Abán)

19. Sean O’Leary (Bantry)

20. Michael Desmond (Cill na Martra)

21. Cillian McIntyre (Carrigaline)

22. Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa)

23. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig)

24. Anthony O’Connor (Knocknagree)

Cork minor hurling team: 

1 Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)

2 Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton)
3 David Griffin (Carrigaline)
4 Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

5 Mark Coleman (Blarney)
6 Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
7 David Lowney (Clonakilty)

8 Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
9 Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10 Tim O’Mahony (Shandrum)
11 Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
12 Shane Kingston (Douglas) Capt.

13 Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neills)
14 Ciaran Cormack (Blackrock)
15 Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)


16 Barry Kenneally (Cuchulainns)

17 John Cashman (Blackrock)

18 Kevin Murphy (Killeagh/Itas)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

19 Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs)

20 Robert Bourke (Ballincollig)

21 Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs)

22 Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh)

23 John Looney (Aghada)

24 Liam Healy (Sarsfields)

Extended training panel:

Donal English (Sarsfields)

Jeremy Saich ( Kilworth)

Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue)

Sean Howard (Dromtarriffe)

Donnachadh Murphy (Douglas)

Darragh O’Brien (Killeagh/Itas)

Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas)

10 happy managers after the group stages of the Allianz Football League

67-year-old goalkeeper Johnny McEvoy wasn’t going to let his club down on Easter Sunday

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: