Dublin: 5°C Sunday 23 January 2022

Tipperary ease past Cork into All-Ireland senior hurling final

Séamus Callanan’s goals helped the Premier County to victory.

Séamus Callanan celebrates scoring his side's opening goal.
Séamus Callanan celebrates scoring his side's opening goal.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 2-18
Cork 1-11

TIPPERARY ARE INTO the All-Ireland final after a 10-point win over Cork in their semi-final at Croke Park this afternoon; 2-4 from Séamus Callanan helping the Premier County to victory.

Cork will rue a host of missed chances, particularly nine first half wides as they were left chasing the game from the sixth minute when Shane O’Neill missed Shane McGrath’s cross leaving Callanan free to blast home past a helpless Anthony Nash.

After the impressive John O’Dwyer scored back-to-back points, Tipperary turned their early deficit – falling behind to Alan Cadogan’s first minutes score – into a five point lead, 1-3 to 0-1, by the 11th minute.

Despite all their misplaced shots in the first half, Cork found themselves just two points down at the break thanks to scores from Aidan Walsh, Séamus Harnedy and Nash’s free-taking but the half-time scoreline – 1-7 to 0-8 – would only serve to give the Munster champions a false sense of hope.

Tipperary’s lead was already four points before Callanan grabbed his second maximum of the game. This time the Drom-Inch forward took advantage of a brilliant Patrick Maher pass to effectively end the game as a contest.

As Rebel heads dropped, the umpire standing beside Nash in the Cork goal raised white flag after white flag and Eamon O’Shea’s men had stretched their lead to 13 points when last year’s losing finalists scored a late consolation goal through Rob O’Shea.

However, it was far too little, far too late and so the 26-time All-Ireland winners will now play Kilkenny in the final for the fourth time in six years with the chance to avenge their defeat in the 2011 final.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 2-4 (0-1f), John O’Dwyer 0-6, Shane McGrath, James Woodlock 0-3 each, Noel McGrath 0-2 each.
Scorers for Cork: Conor Lehane 0-4, Rob O’Shea 1-0, Patrick Horgan, Anthony Nash 0-2 (0-2f) each, Aidan Walsh, Seamus Harnedy, Alan Cadogan 0-1 each.

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

4. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)

7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
3. Paudie Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
9. James Woodlock (Drom& Inch)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

10. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
13. Noel McGrath (LoughmoreCastleiney)

14. Seamus Callanan (Drom and Inch)
12. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)

22. Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) for Ryan (58)
21. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) for Corbett (61)
20. Jason Forde (Silvermines) for Bonner Maher (64)
18. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) for Shane McGrath (64)
23. Conor O’Brien (Eire Og Annacarty) for Woodlock (67)

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)

7. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)

14. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown – Captain)
12. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Cadogan (46)
26. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Cronin (46)
25. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline) for Walsh (54)
22. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum) for Harnedy (64)

LIVE: Cork v Tipperary, All-Ireland senior hurling semi-final

Ladies football: Cork and Armagh march on after dominant displays

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: