This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 16 October, 2019

Over 8,000 in attendance as Cork minors edge past Tipperary on the second time of asking

Victory for Cork ensures a bumper day out for the red hordes in Thurles next Sunday.

Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Cork 2-22
Tipperary 2-19

Jackie Cahill reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

CORK HELD OFF a spirited second half fightback from Tipperary to end the Premier County’s reign as Electric Ireland Munster and All-Ireland minor hurling champions this evening.

Cork were 11 points up in the second half but the margin was back to just one in stoppage time – before late points from Brian Turnbull and Daire Connery sealed victory for the young Rebels.

Turnbull and Connery scored 0-16 between them in last Thursday evening’s epic draw in Thurles – and the pair chipped in with a combined 0-14 tonight, in front of a massive 8,142 attendance at Páirc Uií Rinn.

Victory for Cork ensures a bumper day out for the red hordes in Thurles next Sunday – as the county’s minors and seniors go head to head with Clare for provincial titles.

The weekend tie with the Banner County will also mark the first time that Cork – who have lost the last four semi-finals – will appear in a provincial decider since last winning the crown in 2008.

Craig Hanafin was another to excel for the hosts this evening in front of a partisan home crowd, sniping 1-4 from play over the hour.

Despite registering eight of their 12 wides in the first half alone, Denis Ring’s young guns were still 2-11 to 0-10 clear at the break.

After Tipp, playing with the breeze, had cruised into an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead, Cork opened up with a devastating scoring run that yielded 2-5 without reply.

Hanafin netted in the fifth minute, taking a pass from Liam O’Shea before finishing well, and O’Shea himself raised a green flag six minutes later.

That run left Cork 2-6 to 0-4 in front – an eight-point lead – before Tipp stopped the rot through Jake Morris, who would finish with five points from play.

Conor Bowe also enjoyed a good first half for Tipp but Cork were nine points clear approaching half-time, before the visitors rallied to keep themselves just about in touch.

Cork could also have had another major in the 22nd minute – but O’Shea flashed an effort across the face of goal.

Tipp opened the second half with the opening score but Cork gained a firm stranglehold on proceedings and were 11 ahead – 2-17 to 0-12 – in the 42nd minute.

Back came Tipp with a gritty rally and Bourke’s goal with nine minutes left gave them hope.

Tipp lost Jerome Cahill to a second yellow card in the 60th minute but were still knocking on the Cork door late on, as sub Darragh Woods collected five of his six points from frees.

In the second minute of stoppage time, Kevin McCarthy found the net and Tipp sensed blood.

But Cork steadied and two of their leading stars – Turnbull and Connery – found the range to edge them home.

Scorers for Cork – Brian Turnbull 0-8 (4f), Craig Hanafin 1-4, Daire Connery 0-6 (0-2f, 0-1 sl), Liam O’Shea 1-0, Robert Downey 0-2, Sean O’Leary Hayes & Evan Sheehan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary – Darragh Woods 0-6 (5f), Jake Morris 0-5, Anthony McKelvey 0-4f, Cathal Bourke & Kevin McCarthy 1-0 each, Conor Bowe 0-3, Niall Hoctor 0-1.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)

12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)
3. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton – captain)
19. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)

7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O’Neill’s)
8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
10. Craig Hanafin (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Lenihan (Ballyhooly)

11. Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


23. Declan Hanlon (Blarney) for O’Shea (51)
20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Sheehan (58).


1. Eoin Collins (Drom-Inch)

2. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields)
3. Michael Feehan (Sean Treacys)
4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

6. Robbie Quirke (Cappawhite)
5. Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
7. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
8. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill)
9. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens – captain)

10. Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetouhy)
11. Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Óg)
12. Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

22. Niall Hoctor (St Mary’s, Clonmel)
14. Anthony McKelvey (Moycarkey-Borris)
15. Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Éire Óg)


19. Darragh Woods (Holycross-Ballycahill) for C McCarthy (h.t.)
18. Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs) for O’Mara (h.t.)
17. Kevin McCarthy (Toomevara) for Breen (42)
13. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Hoctor (43)
24. Billy Seymour (Kiladangan) for McKelvey (46).

Referee – Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Liam Griffin calls for Wexford to implement a ‘succession plan’ for Davy Fitzgerald

Here’s the Cork minor hurling team for tonight’s Munster semi-final replay with Tipperary

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: