Dublin: 2°C Sunday 28 November 2021

Here's the Cork hurling team that JBM has named for their opening game of 2014

Cork take on UCC in the Canon O’Brien Cup challenge game next Saturday.

The Cork hurlers face UCC on Saturday.
The Cork hurlers face UCC on Saturday.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

SEVEN PLAYERS FROM the Cork team that started in last year’s All-Ireland hurling final will line out in their opening game of the 2014 season next Saturday.

Cork take on UCC in the Canon O’Brien Cup challenge game at 12pm at the Mardyke. The Rebels did not enter the Waterford Crystal Cup this year as it clashed with their team holiday. They returned last week from a trip to Orlando and the Dominican Republic.

For next Saturday’s game manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has selected goalkeeper Anthony Nash, defensive trio Shane O’Neill, Stephen McDonnell and William Egan, midfielder Lorcán McLoughlin and the attacking pair of Cian McCarthy and Patrick Horgan.

Those seven players started in the replay defeat to Clare in last September’s clash while Killian Murphy and Stephen Moylan both came on as substitutes in that game.

The Cork team also includes newcomers Paul Haughney, a member of last year’s county senior hurling champions Midleton, and Brian Lawton. Both players started on the UCC team that won the Fitzgibbon Cup last March.

Christopher Joyce, Daniel Kearney and Luke O’Farrell are established players named amongst the Cork substitutes.

CORK: 1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk); 2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown), 3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers), 4. Killian Murphy (Erin’s Own); 5. Eoin Keane (St. Finbarr’s), 6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet), 7. William Egan (Kilbrin); 8. Paul Haughney (Midleton), 9. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk); 10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr), 11. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields), 12. Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton); 13. Stephen Moylan (Douglas), 14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 15. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum).
Subs: 16. Stephen Nyhan (Courcey Rovers), 17. Stephen White (Ballygarvan), 18. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), 19. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields), 20. Michael Cahalane (Bandon), 21. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton).

New Cork senior hurler stars as Hamilton High Bandon reach Dr Harty Cup semi-finals

Two Cork schools and two Kerry schools advance to Corn Uí Mhuirí semi-final stage

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel