This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 24 February, 2020

Second half goals sees Cork in Munster U21 hurling final

Three goals in the second period saw the Rebels overcome Waterford.

Alan Cadogan celebrates scoring his side's first goal
Alan Cadogan celebrates scoring his side's first goal
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork 3-18

Waterford 0-16

TWO SECOND HALF strikes from Anthony Spillane and one from Alan Cadogan stunned Waterford in front of 3,717 spectators at Walsh Park.

14-man Cork progressed confidently to the Munster final as they outgunned the hosts by 3-8 to 0-5 in the second half.

Senior star Cadogan hit 1-4 in an outrageous personal display while Patrick Collins made five fabulous saves.

On a mild evening, the hosts shaded the opening thirty by 0-11 to 0-10. In a brisk beginning, Waterford took up the running.

Patrick Collins produced two point blank saves to deny Ryan Donnelly and Donie Breathnach. Points from Austin Gleeson, Gavin O’Brien, Ray Barry and Jake Dillon handed them the early initiative (0-4 to 0-1).

Cork levelled up at four points all with Cadogan and centre forward Colm Spillane striking two apiece.

Waterford kept their noses in front through the excellent Austin Gleeson but Cork were proving difficult to shrug off. Gleeson hit six first half efforts including a crowd pleasing effort close to the stand sideline.

The fleet footed Cadogan kept Cork in the hunt with four from play while Rob O’Shea converted three frees.

Collins saved heroically for the third time on 29 minutes to deflect away Jamie Barron’s goalbound shot. Placed balls from Gleeson and Jake Dillon snuck Waterford ahead before the break.

Cadogan pounced for the game changing goal on 35 minutes when he fielded a Cormac Murphy delivery over two defenders. He calmly rounded Barry and slotted to the net.

That put Cork in front for the first time and they never looked back. On 45 minutes, Anthony Spillane pounced on a misdirected short puck out to blast beyond Barry.

Cormac Murphy’s sending off for an off the ball incident didn’t distract them. They stretched their legs thereafter before Spillane buried his second goal three minutes from time.

Scorers for Cork: A Spillane 2-1, A Cadogan 1-4, R O’Shea 0-7 (4fs, 1 65’), C Spillane 0-3, S O’Keeffe 0-2, C Burke 0-1.
Scorers for Waterford: A Gleeson 0-7 (3fs, 2 65s), J Dillon 0-3 (1f), G O’Brien 0-2, R Barry, J Barron, R Donnelly, T De Burca 0-1 each.

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
6. Killian Burke (Midleton – Captain)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Darragh Brosnan (Brian Dillon’s)
9. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)

10. Shane O Keeffe (Blackrock)
11. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
12. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

Subs: M Sugrue for Brosnan (47), K McIntyre for C Spillane (58), C Walsh for A Spillane (60).

1. Seanie Barry (Lismore)

2. Kevin Daly (Dungarvan)
3. Tadhg Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
4. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)

5. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
6. Ray Barry (Lismore)
7. Michéal Harney (Bonmahon)

8. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
9. Gavin O’ Brien (Roanmore)

10. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) (Capt.)
11. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
12. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

13. Donie Breathnach (An Rinn)
14. Ryan Donnelly (Dungarvan)
15. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

Subs: S Bennett for Breathnach (38), K Power for Harney (45), T Devine for Kearney (54),

Referee: F Horgan (Tipperary).

As it happened: Munster U21 hurling semi-finals matchtracker

‘I took it to the limit’, but Tony Browne wants to keep hurling until he’s 45*

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next: