This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 17 February, 2019

Lehane leads the way as Cork bounce back to beat Wexford in qualifier tie

Lehane was man-of-the-match while Seamus Harnedy also hit the net for the Rebels.

Conor Lehane celebrates scoring the first goal of the game Conor Lehane celebrates firing home the first goal of the game. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cork 2-22
Wexford 0-20

FIRST-HALF GOALS from Conor Lehane and Seamus Harnedy were the launchpad for Cork to reignite their 2015 hurling season as they saw off Wexford in tonight’s All-Ireland Round 1 qualifier clash.

After the setbacks of two defeats to Waterford in their most recent high-profile encounters, Cork needed a response and man-of-the-match Lehane inspired them at Innovate Wexford Park.

Cork laid the foundations for victory with a blistering start to the game as they sprinted ahead by 2-17 to 0-9 at the interval.

Seamus Harmody Seamus Harnedy nets Cork's second goal of the game. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cork got off to a splendid start in what was a difficult qualifier assignment as they lead 1-3 to 0-1 by the 5th minute with Lehane out fielding the Wexford defence before slamming to the net.

Mark Ellis and Cormac Murphy were in dominant form in defence as Cork stretched their lead further by 1-9 to 0-3 at the midway mark of the first-half. Patrick Horgan was in prolific form in front of goal and Seamus Harnedy pounced for their second strike to the net in the 20th minute.

Liam Dunne and Jimmy Barry Murphy Liam Dunne and Jimmy Barry-Murphy after the game. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Ian Byrne’s accuracy from frees kept Wexford in touch but Cork were still in a commanding 2-17 to 0-9 lead at the interval.

That trend continued early in the second-half as Cork went in front by 2-20 to 0-12 after 42 minutes before then Wexford enjoyed their best spell of the game.

They reeled off eight points without reply between the 43rd and 59th minutes with Byrne central to their scoring charge while Conor McDonald and David Redmond also chipped in.

Matthew O'Hanlon Wexford's Matthew O'Hanlon with Cork's Seamus Harnedy. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Yet they never came close to breaching the Cork rearguard to find the net for the goal that would have truly kickstarted their revival. Cork had built up enough of a cushion on the scoreboard and they steadied themselves after a rocky spell in the second-half.

A pair of points from man-of-the-match Lehane crowned a wonderful performance from the Midleton man and Cork ran out eight-point victors to advance to the next round.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-9 (0-5f), Conor Lehane 1-6, Seamus Harnedy 1-1, Bill Cooper, Brian Lawton 0-2 each, Damien Cahalane, Patrick Cronin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Ian Byrne 0-12 (0-9f), David Redmond, Harry Kehoe 0-2 each, Aidan Nolan, Kevin Foley, Paul Morris, Conor McDonald 0-1 each.

Bill Cooper with Diarmuid O'Keeffe Bill Cooper with Diarmuid O'Keeffe Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarr’s)
3. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
4. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)

5. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
12. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Harnedy (50)
Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle) for Cadogan (70)
Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne) for Cronin (71)

Conor McDonald Wexford's Conor McDonald Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown)

2. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
3. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James’)
4. Eoin Moore (Oulart the Ballagh)

5. Andrew Shore (Davidstown/Courtnacuddy)
6. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
7. Paudie Foley (Foley Crossabeg Ballymurn)

8. David Redmond (Oulart the Ballagh)
9. Aidan Nolan (Half Way House – Bunclody)

10. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Annes)
11. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
12. Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s)

13. Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
15. Liam Og McGovern (St Annes)

Andrew Kenny for Moore (17)
Daithi Waters for Nolan (30)
Harry Kehoe for Paudie Foley (31)
Rory Jacob for McGovern (47)
Garrett Sinnott for Kevin Foley (65)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Dublin strike four goals to get back on track with hurling qualifier win over Laois

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: