This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 7 July, 2020

Seven-goal Corofin win in Connacht by 35 points - Ulster success for St Eunan's and Slaughtneil

A good day for the footballers of the Galway champions, Donegal champions and Derry champions.

Corofin's Michael Lundy scored a hat-trick of goals today.
Corofin's Michael Lundy scored a hat-trick of goals today.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO


Corofin (Galway) 7-20
Aughawilan (Leitrim) 0-6

GALWAY CHAMPIONS COROFIN enjoyed their trip to Carrick-on-Shannon this afternoon as they crushed Leitrim side Aughawilan in the AIB Connacht senior football club semi-final.

Corofin started brightly at Páirc Sean MacDiarmada and were 0-11 to 0-3 clear at half-time. Then they upped the ante in the second-half and went goal crazy.

Martin Farragher set the ball rolling with the first two goals before Galway senior Michael Lundy struck home the third. Last year’s All-Ireland U21 winner Ian Burke rattled the net for Corofin’s fourth goal as they went 4-16 to 0-6 clear.

Victory was assured by then but there was still time for Corofin to raise three more green flags. Lundy bagged a brace to complete his hat-trick before Joe Canney grabbed the seventh to seal Corofin’s victory.

Corofin now advance to the Connacht final against Ballintubber on November 23rd in Castlebar. Corofin have won five Connacht titles, most recently with back-to-back victories in 2008 and 2009, but have lost deciders in 2000, 2006 and 2011.

Conal Dunne Conal Dunne impressed for St Eunan's today. Source: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO


St Eunan’s (Donegal) 1-9
Roslea (Fermanagh) 0-6

A WEEK AFTER winning the Donegal senior football title, St Eunan’s got the job done at the first hurdle in Ulster today in Letterkenny.

A six-point success saw St Eunan’s into the semi-final stage where they will take on Tyrone’s Omagh, conquerors of Crossmaglen, next Sunday afternoon.

Conal Dunne was on fire in front of goal in the opening stages for St Eunan’s as they went 0-5 to 0-0 ahead by the 25th minute. Then Dunne banged a penalty to the net and sent them in at the break with a 1-5 to 0-0 lead.

In the second-half Roslea made a fight of the game with a series of points but St Eunan’s were never overhauled and made sure of their victory as Kevin Rafferty steadied matters with a late point.

Kirk McKaigue and Sean Johnston Seanie Johnston was in action for Cavan Gaels today. Source: Presseye/Russell Pritchard/INPHO

Slaughtneil (Derry) 0-11
Cavan Gaels (Cavan) 0-9

SLAUGHTNEIL WITHSTOOD A second-half fightback by Cavan Gaels to claim victory in today’s Ulster SFC quarter-final at Owenbeg.

A two-point win saw the Derry champions through to the last four where they will take on Monaghan’s Clontibret.

Slaughtneil started brightly with Se McGuigan, Paul Bradley and Chris Bradley pointing them into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after 10 minutes. Seanie Johnston helped keep Cavan Gaels in touch and they were 0-5 to 0-3 adrift approaching half-time.

But Chris Bradley, Paul Bradley (2) and Ronan Bradley helped Slaughtneil go six clear before a Johnston point left the half-time score at 0-9 to 0-4 in favour of the Derry outfit.

A pair of early second-half points by Johnston cut the gap to 0-9 to 0-6 entering the final quarter. Chris Bradley and Niall Murray traded points as Slaughtneil stayed three in front with ten minutes left.

The Peter Canavan coached Cavan Gaels side did cut the deficit to the minimum after points by Paul Graham and Johnston with seven minutes left. But the levelling score didn’t arrive as Gerard Bradley kicked the point that clinched Slaughtneil’s win.

All-Ireland champions St Vincent’s blast past Portlaoise and into Leinster semis

Cillian O’Connor and Ballintubber are into their first ever Connacht final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: