Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
©INPHO/ICC Paul Stirling eyes up a sweep shot in Abu Dhabi.
# big bash
Stirling and Shillington capture top prizes at Irish Cricket Awards
Donemana CC were also awarded club of the year at the ceremony held at the Mansion House last night.

PAUL STIRLING HELD off stiff competition from George Dockrell and Ed Joyce to win the award for International Men’s Player of the Year.

The top-order batsman, who bludgeoned a 17-ball 50 against Afghanistan in March, is one of the country’s finest proponents of ,one-day and Twenty 20 cricket.

Ireland coach Phil Simmons spoke to about Stirling’s tour-de-force against the Afghans in the T20 Final, which rubber-stamped qualification for the ICC World Twenty 20 in September.

“The innings Paul Stirling produced was nothing short of incredible,” said Simmons. “The power, placement and shot selection was breath-taking and it was a real privilege to witness it.

I said at the time he has the ability to be rated with the greats of world cricket including Chris Gayle and Virender Sehwag.”

The award for International Women’s Player of the Year went to Clare Shillington.

The Malahide Women player became the first Irish woman to reach the 100-cap milestone earlier this year and produced an excellent century score against The Netherlands in September.

The performances of Shillington and fellow nominees Cecelia Joyce and Kim Garth were a major factor in Ireland’s promotion, this season, to division two of the County Championship in Britain.

Tyrone Kane’s nerveless displays at the Under-19 World Cup were recognised as he captured the Junior Player of the Year accolade.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Donemana Cricket Club, from Tyrone, took home the prize for Club of the Year while all-rounder Johnny Thompson of Brigade took home the award for Club Player of the Year.

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Junior Player of the Year - Tyrone Kane
Coach of the Year John Wills
Volunteer of the Year Aideen Rice
Club of the Year Donemana CC
Club Player of the Year Johnny Thompson
Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year Stuart Thompson
International Women’s Player of the Year Clare Shillington
International Men’s Player of the Year Paul Stirling

Movember power rankings: the top 10 sporting mos, week 2

A modern history of Ireland jerseys in 58 pictures