Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Wednesday 23 September 2020

Dermot Earley elected new GPA President with David Collins new secretary

The AGM of the player’s body was held today in Croke Park.

Dermot Earley.
Dermot Earley.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

DERMOT EARLEY HAS been elected the new President of the GPA at today’s AGM of the player’s body in Croke Park.

Earley replaces Brian Whelehan, who is set to be ratified later this month as the new Offaly senior hurling manager later this month. Whelehan had held the position for the past six years.

There is also a new GPA secretary with Galway hurler David Collins replacing the outgoing Ronan Sweeney – the ex-Kildare player who is going to be the Waterford football coach for next season. Donal Óg Cusack of Cork remains as the GPA chairman.

Motions were passed at the AGM in relation to the completion of a Players’ Charter within each county and to seek further funding for the Player Development Programme.

Players Charter

1. ‘The GPA calls for continued and renewed engagement between County Panels and County Boards in relation to the agreement and completion of a Players’ Charter within each County and seeks, if necessary, to engage with the GAA to explore a mechanism to ensure full and timely compliance with provisions of the Charter.’

Funding for Player Development Programme

2. ‘Arising from existing demand from members to engage with the Player Development Programme, and with a view to broadening and extending the scope of the Programme, the GPA is mandated to investigate the creation and viability of additional sources of funding to supplement existing funding levels.’

The GPA also launched its ‘Sponsor a Scholar Campaign’ aimed at generating further support for the players’ education programme.

Through the scheme, donors are being asked to commit €2,000 to sponsor an individual player for a year or commit to multi-annual support. Sponsors can choose a county to which they wish to donate.

5 Talking Points – TJ Ryan and Donal O’Grady are Limerick’s new co-managers

Poll: Who should win the 2013 Hurler of the Year award?

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: