three of a kind

Trio of Donegal All-Ireland winners announce their retirement from inter-county football

Rory Kavanagh, Christy Toye and David Walsh are the latest players to depart Rory Gallagher’s panel.

DONEGAL BOSS RORY Gallagher has confirmed that three more members of the 2012 All-Ireland winning team have played their last game for the county.

pjimage Inpho Inpho

Rory Kavanagh, Christy Toye and David Walsh have all retired from the inter-county game, Gallagher confirmed during a briefing with the local media in the Villa Rosa Hotel in Ballybofey on Tuesday afternoon.

The trio follow Eamon McGee and Colm McFadden in retiring from Donegal duty, while Leo McLoone (27) and Odhran MacNiallais (24) have also made themselves unavailable for the county in the coming season.

Earlier today Anthony Thompson (30) revealed he is unable to commit to the squad for personal reasons, but left the door open for a possible return at a later stage of the National League.

Toye was Donegal’s longest serving footballer, while Kavanagh previously walked away after the 2014 All-Ireland final, before he returned to the fray a year later.

The Donegal manager added that Neil Gallagher is unlikely to feature in the coming league campaign as he recovers from a back injury.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Early season cruciate blow for Tyrone as attacker ruled out for 2017 season

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.