Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Friday 15 January 2021

Munster GAA colleges draws made for next season with new Dr Harty Cup format

The Corn Uí Mhuirí draw has also been made.

THERE’LL BE A new format for the prestigious Munster hurling colleges competition, the Dr Harty Cup, next season.

Ardscoil Rís (black and red) players in action in April's Croke Cup final. They won the Dr Harty Cup this season. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

A decision was taken to move away from the five-team groups of recent years and the format will now follow the B & C Munster hurling competitions.

The eight teams that contested last year’s quarter-finals are seeded into eight different groups. The winners of each group will face the runner-up from another group at the last 16 stage.

There will be four rounds of action before Christmas with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final to be held in the opening months of 2017.

The format for the Corn Uí Mhuirí will remain the same as recent years.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The St Brendans players celebrate with the Hogan Cup St Brendan's won the Corn Uí Mhuirí earlier this year and went on to lift the Hogan Cup. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

2016-17 Dr Harty Cup

  • Group ASNTN Doon, Coláiste Iosaef Kilmallock, CBC Cork
  • Group B – Gaelcoláiste Mhuire AG, DLS Waterford, Thurles CBS
  • Group C – Castletroy CC, HS Clonmel, Blackwater CS
  • Group D – Hamilton HS Bandon, Ardscoil Rís
  • Group E – Midleton CBS, St Colman’s Fermoy
  • Group F – Our Lady’s Templemore, St Flannan’s Ennis
  • Group G – Rochestown College, Charleville CBS
  • Group H – Abbey CBS, Nenagh CBS

Corn Uí Mhuirí

  • Group A – Rochestown College, Coláiste na Sceilge, Tralee CBS, Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig
  • Group B – Clonakilty CC, HS Clonmel, Mercy Mounthawk Tralee, Coláiste Chríost Rí
  • Group C – IS Killorglin, DLS Macroom, Hamilton HS Bandon, St Brendan’s Killarney
  • Group D – St Fachtna’s Skibbereen, PS Chorca Dhuibhne, PS SL Rathmore, St Flannan’s Ennis

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Rory O’Carroll, Ger Brennan and 13 other Gaelic footballers who’ve left for America this summer

5 Waterford seniors included for U21 semi-final against Clare

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: