Dublin's Ciaran Kilkenny. INPHO/Ryan Byrne
Team news

Ciaran Kilkenny and Danny Sutcliffe in Dublin U21 hurling side for Leinster opener

The sides clash tomorrow night in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling championship.

DUBLIN SENIOR FOOTBALLER Ciaran Kilkenny will line out at right half-forward for the county’s U21 hurling team tomorrow night.

Dublin face Carlow in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 hurling championship quarter-final  in Parnell Park at 7.30pm.

And Kilkenny has been selected to start in attack in a half-forward line that also features Danny Sutcliffe, who shot 0-3 for the county senior side last Saturday against Wexford in their Leinster quarter-final.

Eamonn Dillon who grabbed the vital goal for Anthony Daly’s senior side in Wexford Park last Saturday night is named to play at full-forward.

While Cormac Costello, who made his championship debut for Jim Gavin’s Dublin senior football side against Westmeath recently, will partner Glen Whelan at midfield for the U21 hurling side.

Costello and wing-forward Conor McHugh are both survivors from the Dublin minor side that lost last year’s All-Ireland final after a replay to Tipperary.

While the duo are two of eight players who lost the All-Ireland minor decider in 2011. Matthew McCaffrey, Chris Crummy, Jamie Desmond, Glen Whelan, Kilkenny and Aodhán Clabby were all on the Dublin side that lost out to Galway two years ago.

Dublin will be hoping to atone for last year’s shock first round defeat at the hands of Laois. Team boss Shay Boland can call upon ten members of that squad who lost out by 2-15 to 0-17 in O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

DUBLIN U21H: Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Conor Murphy (Crumlin), Matthew McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields), Ross Mullins (Castleknock); Chris Crummy (Kilmacud Crokes), Jamie Desmond (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Sean Moran (Cuala); Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille), Glen Whelan (Ballinteer St John’s); Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock), Danny Sutcliffe (St Judes), Conor McHugh (Na Fianna); Aodhán Clabby (Ballinteer St John’s), Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionbarra), Fintan McGibb (Setanta).

Dublin’s Danny Sutcliffe.
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan


Carlow enter the match hoping to pull off a huge upset against a much fancied Dublin team. The Barrowsiders were narrowly pipped by Laois in last year’s championship at the semi-final stage.

With star forward Marty Kavanagh still eligible, Carlow will look towards him and Naomh Eoin clubman John Michael Nolan for scoring inspiration up front. The winners of this match will go forward to the semi final stage of the competition against Wexford.

CARLOW U21H: Brian Treacy (Naomh Eoin); David Galway (Erins Own), Paul Doyle (St Mullins), Dion Wall (Ballinkillen); Diarmuid Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers), John Corcoran (Erins Own), Gary Bennett (St Mullins); Craig Wall (Ballinkillen), Paul Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers); John Michael Nolan (Naomh Eoin), Darren Dalton (Ballinkillen), Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins); Peter Shaw (Naomh Bríd), James Doyle (Erins Own), Daryl Roberts (Ballinkillen).

Carlow’s Marty Kavanagh.
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Guiney rescues draw for Wexford against Dublin in Leinster SHC

Ger Loughnane on Dublin: ‘It’s pure constipated hurling’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.