Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Tuesday 1 December 2020

Mullen set for Kilkenny debut, while Kenny unveils strong Dublin side

The sides meet tomorrow evening at 7pm in Nowlan Park.

Dublin boss Mattie Kenny.
Dublin boss Mattie Kenny.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Updated May 10th 2019, 8:30 PM

MATTIE KENNY HAS unveiled his starting XV for Dublin’s Leinster SHC opener against Kilkenny on Saturday night. 

For Kenny’s first championship game in charge of the Sky Blues, four Cuala players are included in the first 15. 

Dublin are carrying plenty of injuries into the game and are without Mark Schutte, Paul Winters, Cian O’Callaghan, Fionntan MacGibb and John Hetherton for the Nowlan Park showdown.

The Kilkenny side has also been named, with Darren Brennan replacing the injured Eoin Murphy in goals. Paddy Deegan and Huw Lawlor form the spine of the defence, while Padraig Walsh is selected at midfield alongside Alan Murphy.

AIB Club Hurler of the Year Adrian Mullen will make his first senior start for the Cats at wing-forward.

The game, which throws-in at 7pm, will be televised live on Sky Sports.


1. Alan Nolan (St. Brigids)

2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)

5. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Seán Moran (Cuala)
7. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

8. Seán Treacy (Cuala)
9. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)

10. David Treacy (Cuala)
11. Danny Sutcliffe (St. Jude’s)
12. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Oisín O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Liam Rushe (St. Patrick’s Palmerstown)
15. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)


1. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
6. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
7. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)

8. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
9. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)

10. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
11. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
12. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycalln)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)

Gavan Casey, Murray Kinsella and Bernard Jackman tee up Saturday’s Champions Cup final and look at the backroom problems in Munster.:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel