Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Monday 17 May 2021

13 for Dublin and 12 for Mayo in 2017 All-Star football nominations

Tyrone, Kerry, Kildare, Down, Roscommon, Armagh, Monaghan and Donegal also have nominees.

ALL-IRELAND FOOTBALL kingpins Dublin have 13 players nominated for the 2017 PWC All-Stars with defeated finalists Mayo receiving 12 nominations.

Aidan O’Shea and James McCarthy Mayo's Aidan O’Shea and Dublin's James McCarthy Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The 45-player shortlist has been released today for the awards which will be announced on Friday 3 November at a gala banquet at Dublin’s Convention Centre.

After Sunday’s epic showdown Dublin and Mayo are the leading two counties recognised in the shortlist. Ulster champions Tyrone are next with six representatives while Munster winners Kerry receive five nominees.

Kildare, Down and Connacht victors Roscommon have two nominees apiece with Monaghan’s Fintan Kelly, Donegal’s Patrick McBrearty and Armagh’s Jamie Clarke completing the shortlist.

Kevin Feely with Jack McCaffrey Kildare's Kevin Feely and Dublin's Jack McCaffrey Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

10 of last year’s All-Star winning team are nominated on this occasion – David Clarke, Brendan Harrison, Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Brian Fenton, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock and Paul Geaney.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Colm Boyle tackles Paul Geaney Kerry's Paul Geaney and Mayo's Colm Boyle Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

The list of nominees in full is:


  1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
  2. David Clarke (Mayo)
  3. Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Niall Morgan salutes the crowd Tyrone's Niall Morgan Source: James Crombie/INPHO


  1. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
  2. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)
  3. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
  4. Philip McMahon (Dublin)
  5. John Small (Dublin)
  6. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
  7. Keith Higgins (Mayo)
  8. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
  9. Chris Barrett (Mayo)
  10. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
  11. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
  12. Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
  13. Tiernan McCann (Tyrone)
  14. Paul Murphy (Kerry)
  15. Tadhg Morley (Kerry)
  16. Conor Devaney (Roscommon)
  17. Caolan Mooney (Down)
  18. Fintan Kelly (Monaghan)

Philip McMahon and Jonny Cooper celebrate Dublin's Philly McMahon and Jonny Cooper Source: James Crombie/INPHO


  1. James McCarthy (Dublin)
  2. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
  3. Tom Parsons (Mayo)
  4. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)
  5. Enda Smith (Roscommon)
  6. Kevin Feely (Kildare)

Enda Smith Roscommon's Enda Smith Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


  1. Andy Moran (Mayo)
  2. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)
  3. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
  4. Jason Doherty (Mayo)
  5. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
  6. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
  7. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
  8. Paul Mannion (Dublin)
  9. Dean Rock (Dublin)
  10. Paul Geaney (Kerry)
  11. Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)
  12. James O’Donoghue (Kerry)
  13. Peter Harte (Tyrone)
  14. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
  15. Connaire Harrison (Down)
  16. Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)
  17. Jamie Clarke (Armagh)
  18. Daniel Flynn (Kildare)

Jamie Clarke Armagh's Jamie Clarke Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

Bohan backs clubmate McCaffrey to bounce back from cruciate knee ligament damage

‘He really was different class’ – Tributes pour in for broadcasting great Jimmy Magee

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel