This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 15 December, 2018

Dublin minors reach Leinster MFC final four with win over Meath

Three points separated the sides in Parnell Park this afternoon.

Dublin's Shane Clayton and Kyle Dixon of Meath battle for possession.
Dublin's Shane Clayton and Kyle Dixon of Meath battle for possession.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

DUBLIN 0-15 MEATH 0-12

DUBLIN ADVANCED TO the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football Championship following a hard-earned three point victory over near neighbours Meath in Parnell Park earlier this afternoon.

In contrast to their sloppy opening against Longford four weeks ago, the Dubs started brightly despite the concession of an early point to Daire Rowe.

Andrew Foley and Eoghan McHugh enjoyed a marked dominance at centrefield with the latter levelling matters in the 3rd minute after a surging run down the middle.

However, despite enjoying generous amounts of possession, the Dubs were proving errant in attack with the normally-reliable Con O’Callaghan having an off-day from placed balls and open play.

Meath took advantage to pull two points clear by the 22nd minute with the lively Daire Rowe accounting for three of their points but the hosts finished the half strongly through scores by Jack Burke and Conor Kavanagh to lead by 0-7 to 0-6 at the break.

The contest remained similarly tight upon the restart with the Dubs largely dependent on frees by Kavanagh to keep Meath at arm’s length as their earlier supremacy in the middle third eroded.

That allowed Meath to remain in contention through fine scores by substitute Padraig McGowan and Rowe but the strength of Dublin’s bench proved crucial with Eoin Murchan tightening matters defensively while Chris Sallier kicked a critical insurance score with three minutes remaining.

Scorers for Dublin: C Kavanagh 0-6 (6f), J Burke 0-3, C O’Callaghan, A Foley 0-2, E McHugh, C Sallier 0-1 each.
Scorers for Meath: D Rowe 0-6 (4f), D Brady 0-2, J McLoughlin, R Jones (f), D Heaney (f), P McGowan 0-1 each.

Dublin: Eiven Whelan (Trinity Gaels), Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis), Jack Mullins (St Brigid’s), Decal Monahan (Clontarf), Andrew McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes), Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna), Andrew Foley (Clontarf), Eoghan McHugh (Na Fianna); Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Conor Kavanagh (Ballymun Kickhams), Jack Burke (St Maur’s); Brian Howard (Raheny), Con O’Callaghan (Cuala), Rian McBride (St Vincent’s).

Subs: Aodhán Fee (Naomh Mearnóg) for Mullins (27), Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna) for Basquel (half-time), Warren Egan (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Howard (36), Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna) for Clayton (37, Black Card), Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis) for McBride (46), Aaron Elliott (Ballymun Kickhams) for Burke (57).

Meath: Johnny Lynch (Moynalty); Ronan McDonagh (Clann nan Gael), Charlie Bird (Boardsmill), Dan Ormsby (Dunshaughlin); Jordan McLoughlin (St Peter’s Dunboyne), Brian Harnan (Moynalvey), Ross Ryan (Summerhill); Kyle Dixon (Boardsmill), Ronan Jones (St Peter’s Dunboyne); Shane Comiskey (St Peter’s Dunboyne), Darren Heaney (Duleek/Bellewstown), Dylan Brady (Donaghmore/Ashbourne); James Cillen (Trim), Daire Rowe (Syddan), David McLoughlin (Moynalvey).

Subs: Gavin McGowan (Ratoath) for Bird (half-time), Padraig McGowan (Slane) for D McLoughlin (43), Jack O’Connor (Donaghmore/Ashbourne) for McDonagh (51), Thomas McGuinness (Rathkenny) for J McLoughlin (53).

Referee: Patrick Maguire (Longford).

‘I’m not used to running sideways’ – David Gillick on his GAA comeback

14 reasons we’re glad The Sunday Game is back

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Rónán Mac Lochlainn

Read next: