Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent's) and Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) are both chasing a Dublin title.
# Have your say
Poll: Who do you think will be crowned Dublin senior football champions in 2016?
The quarter-final draw will be made tomorrow night.

AFTER THE LATEST feat that confirmed Dublin’s dominance of the inter-county senior scene, the Gaelic football focus in the capital shifts to the club scene in the coming weeks.

Sam Maguire is residing in Dublin again after the 2016 season and that achievement mirrors the strength of the club game in the county.

Dublin sides have won the last four Leinster senior club titles and indeed nine of the last 13. On the All-Ireland stage, there have been two Dublin winners in the past three years and four in the past nine seasons – Ballyboden St-Enda’s, St Vincent’s (x2) and Kilmacud Crokes.

It’s natural then that there’ll be plenty interest on the outcome of the 2016 Dublin championship, particularly after a weekend when the reigning kingpins Ballyboden were knocked out and the quarter-finalists were confirmed.

The last eight draw will take place tomorrow and there will be three recent champions involved in St Vincent’s, Ballymun Kickhams and Kilmacud Crokes.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

But who do you think will triumph? Let us know.

Poll Results:

St Vincent's (1368)
Ballymun Kickhams (1320)
Kilmacud Crokes (668)
Castleknock (167)
St Judes (131)
Skerries Harps (107)
Lucan Sarsfields (104)
Raheny (101)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Dean Rock and Diarmuid Connolly on target as Ballymun and St Vincent’s progress

From Dalymount to Parnell Park: Shane Supple has had a busy sporting weekend


Your Voice
Readers Comments