This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Dublin bring Waterford's 11-game league winning run to an end and book quarter-final spot

A five-point win today for Ger Cunningham’s side in Walsh Park.

Chris Crummey and Jake Dillon battle for a high ball in Walsh Park.
Chris Crummey and Jake Dillon battle for a high ball in Walsh Park.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Dublin 0-19
Waterford 0-14

Tomás McCarthy at Walsh Park

DUBLIN ENDED WATERFORD’S 11-game Allianz hurling league unbeaten record as Ger Cunningham’s side won a cagey encounter at Walsh Park.

The teams were level six times before a crowd of 6,362 but the visitors fired five points in a row during the second half to wrestle control of the game. David Treacy nailed nine placed balls for the winners with the lively Eamon Dillon recording four from play.

Young hurler of the year Tadhg De Burca returned to the Waterford line-up for his first start of 2016 instead of the injured Darragh Fives. Mark Schutte was ruled out due to illness for the Dubs.

Patrick Curran opened the scoring on 42 seconds as the Déise galloped three points up inside three minutes.

Dublin settled down however with their short game and Eamon Dillon knocked over two fine points to help them into a 0-6 to 0-3 advantage by the close of the opening quarter. Shane Bennett replied with Waterford’s first point for fifteen minutes.

Stephen OÕKeeffe and Shane Fives tries to clear under pressure from Eamon Dillon Waterford's Stephen O'Keeffe and Shane Fives try to clear under pressure from Dublin's Eamon Dillon Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Derek McGrath’s charges moved 0-8 to 0-7 ahead by halfway as Austin Gleeson struck two massive points from inside his own half. Curran also split the uprights from distance. The home side departed on seven wides however with Gleeson responsible for four.

On the restart, Dillon levelled the contest for the third occasion. David Treacy converted a brace of frees to send the visitors back in front. A purple patch of five consecutive points over eleven minutes gave them a 0-15 to 0-11 lead.

This sustained period of dominance included a scorcher from wing back Chris Crummey and another long range single by Darragh O’Connell.

Substitute Sean Treacy and free taker David Treacy clinched victory with late white flags. A third win in a row secures their spot in the quarter finals.

Ger Cunningham Dublin manager Ger Cunningham Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Scorers for Waterford: Patrick Curran 0-7 (0-4f, 1 ’65), Austin Gleeson 0-3 (0-2f), Jamie Barron, Shane Bennett, Jake Dillon, Colin Dunford 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: David Treacy 0-9 (0-9f) Eamon Dillon 0-4, David O’Callaghan, Niall McMorrow, Chris Crummey, Johnny McCaffrey, Darragh O’Connell, Sean Treacy 0-1 each.


1. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda)

2. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
3. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
4. Oisin Gough (Cuala)

20. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s Palmerstown)
5. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

8. Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)
7. Johnny McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)

9. Daire Plunkett (St Brigids)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda)
14. David Treacy (Cuala)

13. David O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda)
12. Eamonn Dillon (Naomh Fionbarra)
24. Fiontan McGibb (Setanta)


23. Sean Treacy (Cuala) for McGibb (54)
10. Sean McGrath (Kilmacud Crokes) for Barrett (61)
21. Colm Cronin (Cuala) for O’Connell (70)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
6. Tadhg De Burca (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)

12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curan (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
24. Tom Devine (Modeligo)
5. Austin Gleeson (De La Salle)


21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore) for Devine (51)
23. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) for Dunford (63)
19. Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner) for Bennett (70)
26. Thomas Ryan (Tallow) for Gleeson (70)

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Clare claim 22-point win over Kerry as Podge Collins makes inter-county hurling return

Joe Canning scores 1-11 but Bubbles rescues draw as Tipperary and Galway still in relegation battle

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next: