Dustin Johnson's brother jumps into water hazard to save two-shot penalty

You’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do.

Austin: "There was no doubt that he was going in," said DJ.

WE’VE SEEN A lot of golf, but it’s a long time since we’ve seen anything like this.

Dustin Johnson was playing the fourth hole at TPC Sawgrass on Friday and, after marking the ball on the green, passed it to his caddy, Austin, who also happens to be his little brother.

But somehow the pair managed to make a mess of the hand-off and watched as the ball dropped into the water hazard.

Under PGA Tour rules, a player must start and finish a hole with the same ball; if the ball is changed at any time, it’s a two-stroke penalty.

So Austin had no option but to jump into the water and fish out the ball so that his big bro could finish out the hole penalty-free.

“I didn’t know what the deal was, if you had to go get it,” Dustin told reporters afterwards (Golf Channel).

“But it was going to be a penalty, so there was no doubt that he was going in.”


The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Rory McIlroy just misses out on course record with stunning 64 at The Players

We’ve just seen the first hole-in-one on the 17th at Sawgrass since 2002

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel