Sunday 29 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Mike Egerton/PA Wire/Press Association Images Sam Burgess has been selected to start for England on Saturday.
# big bash
England go with Slammin' Sam, Gatland drops Tipuric and Cuthbert for huge Pool of Death clash
As expected, Owen Farrell gets the nod in England’s number 10 jersey over George Ford.

STUART LANCASTER HAS opted for a new-look midfield as they get set to take on Wales in their pivotal Rugby World Cup Pool A encounter on Saturday (KO 20.00).

Sam Burgess takes over from his injured Bath team-mate Jonathan Joseph at 12 while Brad Barritt shifts to outside centre.

Owen Farrell is handed the role of out-half with George Ford moving to the bench and Ben Youngs named as scrum-half.

Billy Vunipola replaces Ben Morgan at 8 as the Gloucester man struggles with a knee injury while James Haskell and Alex Goode are both included in a 23-man squad for the first time at this year’s tournament.

Wales coach Warren Gatland has made some unexpected calls in his starting line-up.

The most straight forward decision was to recall Jamie Roberts to the injury-hit back-line. However, Lions wing Alex Cuthbert is among the replacements and Hallam Amos named on the left wing. In the tight five, Bradley Davies has edged Luke Charteris out and Tomas Francis is named tighthead with Samson Lee held back to make an impact from the bench.

The back row combination that facilitated both Sam Warburton and Justin Tipuric has been shelved. Tipuric moves out of the starting line-up so the captain can fill the number seven shirt with Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau completing the tried and tested trio.


15. Mike Brown
14. Anthony Watson
13. Brad Barritt
12. Sam Burgess
11. Jonny May
10. Owen Farrell
9. Ben Youngs

1. Joe Marler
2. Tom Youngs
3. Dan Cole
4. Geoff Parling
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Wood
7. Chris Robshaw (Captain)
8. Billy Vunipola

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


16. Rob Webber
17. Mako Vunipola
18. Kieran Brookes
19. Joe Launchbury
20. James Haskell
21. Richard Wigglesworth
22. George Ford
23. Alex Goode


15. Liam Williams
14. George North
13. Scott Williams
12. Jamie Roberts
11. Hallam Amos
10. Dan Biggar
9. Gareth Davies

1. Gethin Jenkins
2. Scott Baldwin
3. Tomas Francis
4. Bradley Davies
5. Alun Wyn Jones
6. Dan Lydiate
7. Sam Warburton (Captain)
8 Taulupe Faletau


16. Ken Owens
17. Aaron jarvis
18. Samson Lee
19. Luke Charteris
20. Justin Tipuric
21. Lloyd Williams
22. Rhys Priestland
23. Alex Cuthbert

Can’t watch ‘em all? The key World Cup fixtures to watch this weekend

Romania’s late consolation try celebrations were incredibly joyful last night