This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

England Women complete a miserable day for Irish rugby

With just under 20 minutes remaining, Abbie Scott scored the try that ultimately sealed her side’s victory.

England's Abbie Scott (left) scores a try past Ireland's Cliodhna Moloney.
England's Abbie Scott (left) scores a try past Ireland's Cliodhna Moloney.
Image: PA Wire/Press Association Images

England Women 13

Ireland Women 9

ENGLAND WOMEN MADE it a double disappointment for Irish rugby at Twickenham today, as they claimed a 13-9 victory in a closely fought encounter.

The hosts took an early 8-0 lead thanks to an Amber Reed penalty and an Emma Croker try, before Niamh Briggs hit back, registering three penalties from three attempts to give her side a one-point advantage early in the second half.

But Ireland failed to make the most of this momentum, even after Harriet Millar-Mills had been sin-binned, with Briggs sending a drop-goal attempt wide, as a sustained spell of Irish pressure failed to pay dividends, while the influential fullback also had a try disallowed.

And with just under 20 minutes remaining, Ireland were made to pay for their missed opportunities, as Abbie Scott crossed over for the try that ultimately sealed her side’s victory.

Like their male counterparts, England Women now have three Six Nations wins from three matches, while it’s a second loss on the bounce for Ireland, who were previously beaten by France.



Tries: E Croker, A Scott

Penalties: A Reed.


Penalties: N Briggs.

England: Katie Mason; Lydia Thompson (Ruth Laybourn ’69), Lauren Cattell, Ceri Large, Lotte Clapp; Amber Reed, La Toya Mason (Bianca Blackburn 48); Rochelle Clark (Heather Kerr ’78), Emma Croker (Amy Cokayne ’60), Vickii Cornborough (Bee Dawson ’74), Abbie Scott, Emily Braund, Harriet Millar-Mills (Tamara Taylor ’69), Izzy Noel-Smith (Poppy Leitch ’73), Sarah Hunter (captain).

Ireland: Niamh Briggs (captain) (Jackie Shiels ’73); Elise O’Byrne White, Aine Donnelly, Sene Naoupu, Mairead Coyne; Nora Stapleton (Nikki Caughey ’55), Larissa Muldoon; Ruth O’Reilly, Cliodhna Moloney, Ailis Egan, Sophie Spence, Marie Louise Reilly (Ciara Cooney ’79), Ciara Griffin (Heather O’Brien ’64), Claire Molloy, Paula Fitzpatrick.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Dillane, VDF and McCloskey provide positives for Schmidt’s Ireland in defeat>

Here’s the try that broke Irish hearts at Twickenham today>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: