Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Wednesday 2 December 2020

Poll: Who deserves to be named Footballer of the Year tomorrow evening?

James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton, Andy Moran and David Clarke are in the running.

THE 2017 FOOTBALLER of the Year will be announced tomorrow night, with four names in the running for the big prize.

James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton, Andy Moran and David Clarke are the players nominated and the winner will be confirmed at the 2017 PWC All-Stars from Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday evening.

The nominees, which were decided by a committee made up of Gaelic Games correspondents and chaired by GAA President Aogán Ó Fearghail, were voted on by inter-county players.

Con O’Callaghan, Sean Powter and Michael Daly have been nominated for the Young Footballer of the Year award, but it’s a prize O’Callaghan should win comfortably.

McCarthy (27), Moran (33), Clarke (33) and Cluxton (35) are all bidding to win the Footballer of the Year gong for the first time in their careers.

It’s believed McCarthy – who won man of the match in the All-Ireland final – and Moran – on the back of his best year in a Mayo jersey – are the frontrunners to claim the prize.

Who would get your vote?

Poll Results:

Andy Moran (4857)
James McCarthy (1909)
Stephen Cluxton (428)
David Clarke (146)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

7 from Galway and 5 from Waterford – the 2017 All-Star hurling team

Open Thread: We’ve picked our 2017 All-Star hurling team but what’s your prediction?

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel