Farewell – 25 intercounty GAA stars who called it a day in 2013

The leading footballers and hurlers who bowed out this year.

THEY STARRED ON the GAA inter-county scene for several years.

But 2013 was the year that several footballers and hurlers opted to bring the curtain on their careers.

Here’s 25 players that called it a day in 2013.

Farewell – 25 intercounty GAA stars who called it a day in 2013
1 / 25
  • John Mullane (Waterford)

    After four Munster medals, one league medal and five Allstar awards, Mullane retired in January.Source: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
  • Dermot Earley (Kildare)

    After struggling with injuries in recent years, Earley called time after winning two Leinster medals and two Allstars.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Gary Connaughton (Westmeath)

    Westmeath's 2004 Leinster winning netminder bowed out after their championship exit in July.Source: INPHO/Ken Sutton
  • Tomas Ó Sé (Kerry)

    One of the game's true greats, the five-time All-Ireland senior winner retired in early October. He also won five Allstar awards.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Fergal Lynch (Clare)

    The eldest member of the Banner panel bowed out on a glorious note when they won the All-Ireland title in September.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Marty McGrath (Fermanagh)

    Injuries plagued his career but 2004 Allstar McGrath was a familiar figure for Fermanagh until his retirement in October.Source: INPHO/Dan Sheridan
  • Brendan Cummins (Tipperary)

    Tipperary's long-serving goalkeeper retired with two All-Ireland senior medals to his name. Won 5 Allstar awards as well during his career.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Noel O'Leary (Cork)

    Cork's 2010 All-Ireland winning wing-back brought the curtain down on his career in October.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Graham Canty (Cork)

    Cork's 2010 All-Ireland winning captain bowed out in October. He won Allstar awards in 2007, 2009 and 2010.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Padraig Clancy (Laois)

    Clancy was a long-serving member for Laois and won a Leinster senior football medal back in 2003.Source: INPHO/Presseye/Lorcan Doherty
  • Pearse O'Neill (Cork)

    The Aghada club man won an All-Ireland medal in 2010 and an Allstar before that in 2009.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Alan Quirke (Cork)

    One of Cork's longest-serving players, Quirke's career stretched back to 1999. His high point was winning the All-Ireland in 2010.Source: INPHO/Colm O'Neill
  • David Murphy (Wexford)

    The experienced Murphy was an established figure at the heart of the Model County defence in recent years.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Redmond Barry (Wexford)

    Barry was better known as a Gaelic footballer but he also played hurling for Wexford.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Alan O'Connor (Cork)

    The St Colum's club man was the last in a series of Cork football retirements announced this year.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Pascal McConnell (Tyrone)

    The Newtownstewart goalkeeper was between the posts for Tyrone’s 2005 and 2008 triumphs while he was a substitute for their breakthrough win in 2003 against Armagh.Source: INPHO/Cathal Noonan
  • Eoin Brosnan (Kerry)

    Brosnan claimed three All-Ireland senior medals with Kerry. He retired before launching the second phase of his career in 2011.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Gary Hurney (Waterford)

    The Ballinacourty club man was the most recent inter-county player to call time.Source: INPHO/Morgan Treacy
  • Ronan Sweeney (Kildare)

    The Lilywhites player won a Leinster senior title in 2000 before retiring last July.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer
  • Eamonn O'Hara (Sligo)

    The 2002 Allstar winner and 2007 Connacht senior medallist ended his inter-county career in May of this year.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • John Devine (Tyrone)

    Errigal Ciaran club man Devine retired in May. He was between the posts when Tyrone lifted Sam Maguire in 2003.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Paudie Kissane (Cork)

    Kissane was wing-back on Cork's All-Ireland winning team in 2010 while he also won an Allstar that year.Source: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
  • Tom Kenny (Cork)

    One of the final links with Cork's 2004 & 2005 All-Ireland winning hurling sides, Kenny retired recently.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Niall Moran (Limerick)

    The Ahane club man called it a day recently after winning a Munster senior hurling medal this year.Source: INPHO/James Crombie
  • Donal Og Cusack (Cork)

    The iconic goalkeeper revealed in March that his inter-county career had drawn to an end after being omitted from Cork's league panel. He won three All-Ireland senior medals.Source: INPHO/Donall Farmer

22 pictures from Brendan Cummins brilliant career

13 GAA stars, past and present, who are really going to miss Tomás Ó Sé

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: