Ryan Byrne/INPHO Kerry begin their league title defence with a trip to Donegal.
# Team news
5 All-Ireland starters for Kerry, McStay and O'Rourke name Mayo and Meath sides for league openers
The 2023 Allianz football league commences tomorrow.

LAST UPDATE | Jan 27th 2023, 8:30 PM

FIVE OF KERRY’S All-Ireland final winning side start their Allianz football league Division 1 opener against Donegal on Sunday.

The full-back line of Graham O’Sullivan, Jason Foley and Tom O’Sullivan, centre-half back Tadhg Morley and midfielder Jack Barry are included in Jack O’Connor’s starting 15.

Four more of Sunday’s starters — the Spillane brothers, Killian and Adrian, Micheál Burns and Paul Murphy — came off the bench in last July’s decider victory over Galway.

Mike Breen and Dara Moynihan are both named to start after injury disrupted their 2022 season, while 2014 All-Ireland minor winning midfielder Barry O’Sullivan has been rewarded for his strong club campaign with Dingle last year.

New Mayo and Meath managers, Kevin McStay and Colm O’Rourke, have also unveiled their starting sides ahead of opening weekend.

Mayo face Galway in Castlebar tomorrow night in Division 1, while Meath travel to take on Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday afternoon.

Colm Reape is handed his first league outing in goal for Mayo, the Knockmore man having featured this month in the FBD Connacht League. There is also a first start for corner-back Jack Coyne from Ballyhaunis, while the rest of the team features experienced figures like Stephen Coen in defence, midfield pair Matthew Ruane and Diarmuid O’Connor, with Ryan O’Donoghue in attack at corner-forward.

Mayo have also confirmed Paddy Durcan as their team captain for the 2023 season with Coen and Tommy Conroy as vice-captains.

paddy-durcan Tom Maher / INPHO Paddy Durcan is the Mayo captain for 2023, but does not start against Galway tomorrow night, Tom Maher / INPHO / INPHO

Meath have handed out three league debuts. Wolfe Tones defender Adam O’Neill comes in at corner-back, having not played minor or U20 previously for the county, as older brother Daniel also starts having returned to the panel this year.

Full-back Michael Flood from St Brigid’s and midfielder Daithi McGowan from Ratoath are the other newcomers involved.

New Roscommon boss Davy Burke has also shown his hand as the Division 1 newcomers gear up to face Tyrone. The Red Hand and fellow top-tier outfits Donegal, Armagh and Monaghan are yet to release team news.

Kerry (v Donegal)

1. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)

2. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), 3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), 4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Mike Breen (Beaufort), 6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), 7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

8. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil), 9. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)

10. Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes), 11. Dara Moynihan (Spa Killarney), 12. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

13. Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes), 14. Darragh Roche (Glenflesk), 15. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)


  • 16. Devon Burns (Na Gaeil)
  • 17. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)
  • 18. Jack O’Shea (Austin Stacks)
  • 19. Greg Horan (Austin Stacks)
  • 20. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
  • 21. Stefan Okunbor (Na Gaeil)
  • 22. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
  • 23. Barry Mahony (St Senan’s)
  • 24. Ruairi Murphy (Listry)
  • 25. Dylan Geaney (Dingle)
  • 26. Pa Warren (Gneeveguilla)

Mayo (v Galway)

1. Colm Reape (Knockmore)

2. Jack Coyne (Ballyhaunis), 3. Rory Brickenden (Westport), 4. Enda Hession (Garrymore)

5. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore), 6. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers), 7. Donnacha McHugh (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy), 9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

10. Fionn McDonagh (Westport), 11. Jack Carney (Kilmeena), 12. Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)

13. Aiden Orme (Knockmore), 14. James Carr (Ardagh), 15. Ryan O’Donoghue (Beal an Mhuirthead)

Meath (v Cork)

1. Harry Hogan (Longwood)

2. Adam O’Neill (Wolfe Tones), 3. Michael Flood (St. Brigid’s), 4. Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown)

5. Eoin Harkin (Dunsany), 6. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny), 7. Daniel O’Neill (Wolfe Tones)

8. Ronan Jones (St. Peter’s Dunbyone), 9. Daithí McGowan (Ratoath)

10. Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey), 11. Jason Scully (Oldcastle), 12. Darragh Campion (Skryne)

13. Jordan Morris (Kingscourt Stars, Cavan), 14. Mathew Costello (Dunshaughlin), 15. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna)

Roscommon (v Tyrone)

1. Colm Lavin (Eire Og)

2. Conor Hussey (Michael Glaveys), 3. Conor Daly (Padriag Pearses), 4. Eoin McCormack (St Dominics)

5. Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys), 6. Brian Stack (St Brigids, captain) 7. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)

8. Tadhg O’Rourke (Tulsk Lord Edwards), 9. Keith Doyle (St Dominics)

10. Robbie Dolan (St Brigids), 11. Enda Smith (Boyle), 12. Ciarán Lennon (Clann na nGael)

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs), 14. Conor Cox (Eire Og), Ciaráin Murtagh (St Faithleachs).

- Additional reporting by Emma Duffy.

Get instant updates on the Allianz Football and Hurling Leagues on The42 app. Brought to you by Allianz Insurance, proud sponsors of the Allianz Leagues for over 30 years.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel