Dublin: 13°C Sunday 20 June 2021

Galway fire home 3 goals in Salthill as they complete Connacht minor three-in-a-row

Sligo were despatched by ten points at Pearse Stadium.

Galway's Conor Campbell and Sligo's Ben Tuohy.
Galway's Conor Campbell and Sligo's Ben Tuohy.
Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Galway 3-11
Sligo 0-10

John Fallon reports from Pearse Stadium

SLIGO’S HOPES OF a first Connacht minor title since 1968 never looked like materialising at Pearse Stadium today as Galway eased their way to a third title in a row.

Galway were well on their way to a 28th crown in the grade when they led by 1-6 to 0-6 at the break, having played against the wind.

Sligo made a blistering start with the wind and had two points on the board in the opening minute with Conall Ryan and Luke Towey hitting the target.

Darragh Silke got Galway off the mark with a free after five minutes but points from Red Óg Murphy and Ryan pushed Sligo 0-4 to 0-1 in front after eleven minutes.

But Galway took over from there and drew level with three points in a row from, with Silke getting a brace after Martin Kerrigan had landed a good point.

Galway got a big breakthrough after 17 minutes when Conor Campbell soloed through from deep and punished a slack Sligo defence when he shot low into the bottom right corner.

Murphy and Ryan responded for Sligo but their two-man full-forward line made little impact with the wind and it was Galway who finished the half strongly with a couple of points from Evan Murphy and Silke to leave them 1-6 to 0-6 ahead at the break.

Galway doubled that lead with three quick points after the restart, two of them from midfielder Matthias Barrett and one from full-forward Padraic Costello.

Barrett’s midfield partner Evan Murphy was then the architect of two goals for the Tribesmen as they pulled away.

His long delivery was fisted to the net by Daniel Kenny after 42 minutes and then he set up Costello for Galway’s third going into the final quarter.

Galway, who had corner-forward Conor Newell red-carded after 45 minutes, kicked ten wides in the second-half but were never troubled by a Sligo side who only managed four points after the restart.

Scorers for Galway: Darragh Silke 0-4 (0-3f), Padraic Costello 1-1, Conor Campbell 1-0, Daniel Kenny 1-0, Matthias Barrett 0-2, Martin Kerrigan 0-1, Evan Murphy 0-1, Liam Boyle 0-1, R Cunningham 0-1.

Scorers for Sligo: R Og Murphy 0-3 (0-2f), C Ryan 0-3, L Towey 0-1, N Colsh 0-1, R Walsh 0-1, B Gorman 0-1.


1. Oran Burke (Corofin)

2. Eoin McFadden (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
3. Sean Mulkerrin (Oileain Arainn)
4. Gavin Burke (Corofin)

5. Jack Glynn (Claregalway)
6. Sean Fitzgerald (Bearna)
7. Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

8. Matthias Barrett (Leitir Mor)
9. Evan Murphy (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Brian Harlowe (St Micheal’s)
11. Darragh Silke (Corofin)
17. Conor Campbell (Claregalway)

13. Conor Newell (Corofin)
14. Padraic Costello (Dunmore McHales)
12. Martin Kerrigan (Clonbur)


15. Daniel Kenny (Oughterard) for Harlowe (half-time)
20. Liam Costello (Milltown) for Kerrigan (50)
21. Rory Cunninghan (St Brendan’s) for P Costello (51)
18. Ciaran Potter (Annaghdown) for Boyle (53)
16. James Kyne (Clonbur) for Burke (60).


1. Alan Davey (Eastern Harps)

3. Josh Ellis (Enniscrone/Kilglass)
5. Brian Cox (Calry/St Joseph’s)
2. Evan Lyons (Sharmock Gaels)

22. Ben Tuohy (Shamrock Gaels)
6. Evan Lavin (Eastern Harps)
7. Oisin Conlon (Ballymote)

8. Niall Colsh (Ballymote)
9. Barry Gorman (Coolaney/Mullinabreena)

12. Ciaran O’Dowd (Enniscrone/Kilglass)
11. Luke Towey (St Molaise Gaels)
15. Karl McKenna (Shamrock Gaels)

10. Roland Anderson (Owenmore Gaels)
14. Red Og Murphy (Curry)
13. Conall Ryan (Tubbercurry)


18. Micheal Cahill (Castleconnor) for O’Dowd (29)
21. Jake Stephenson (Eastern Harps) for McKenna (32)
4. James Weir (St Farnan’s) for Tuohy (46)
17. Ryan Walsh (St Micheal’s) for Anderson (49)
20. Joe McMunn (St Patrick’s) for Lavin (57)
19. Oisin Grehan (Cloonacool) for Colsh (63)

Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

5 talking points after Waterford finally claim Kilkenny scalp in Thurles thriller

5 big questions for Galway ahead of today’s Connacht SFC final

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: