Dublin: 12°C Sunday 24 October 2021

Jake Keegan hits a hat-trick as Galway see off Longford

The westerners got back to winning ways today.

Treble: Jake Keegan of Galway.
Treble: Jake Keegan of Galway.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Galway United 4

Longford Town 2

A SPLENDID JAKE Keegan hat-trick ensured Galway United registered a first SSE Airtricity League Premier Division win since 11 July as the Tribesmen defeated Longford Town at Eamonn Deacy Park.

New York native Keegan took his seasonal account of league goals to 12 as Galway delivered a dynamic display to claim the three points.

With Ryan Connolly making an impressive return in the centre of the park Galway enjoyed a productive opening period as Tommy Dunne’s side hit the front in the 18th minute when Keegan netted.

Jason Molloy’s free kick caused panic in the Longford are and New York native Keegan guided Galway ahead with an opportunistic finish. Six minutes later a Gary Shanahan flick released Keegan, who forced a decent save from Longford custodian Paul Hunt.

On the stroke of half-time a Keegan cross located Enda Curran, but his glancing header drifted narrowly wide. Five minutes after the restart David O’Sullivan spurned a gilt edged chance to equalise when rifling a shot wide.

Galway added a second in the 61st minute as Keegan supplied a sweet header to a splendid Connolly free-kick. Gary Shanahan scampered clear to lash a third in the 67th minute as Galway, prompted by Connolly, controlled the contest.

Skipper Paul Sinnott provided the assist for Keegan’s hat-trick in the 70th minute as poor Longford defending was punished again. Longford substitute Dean Kelly narrowed the gap on 76 and also added a last minute penalty following an off the ball incident, but Galway held on.

Galway United: Conor Winn; Colm Horgan, Samuel Oji, Killian Cantwell, Marc Ludden (Stephen Walsh, 81); Gary Shanahan, Paul Sinnott, Ryan Connolly (Tomi Saarelma, 89), Jason Molloy (David O’Leary, 64); Jake Keegan, Enda Curran.

Longford Town: Paul Hunt; Pat Sullivan, Rhys Gorman, Mark Rossiter, Conor Powell; Mark Salmon (Ayman Ben Mohamed, 68), Philip Gannon, Kevin O’Connor, Lorcan Shannon; Gary Shaw (Kaleem Simon, 76), David O’Sullivan (Dean Kelly, 58).

Referee: Rob Harvey (Dublin).

Finn on the double as Dundalk stay on track for title with Sligo draw

In-form Limerick stun Saints to keep hopes alive

Read next: