This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 14 October, 2019

Ireland make three changes for second World Cup meeting with Australia

Tom Tierney’s side face the Wallaroos in Belfast tomorrow.

Ireland coach Tom Tierney during training in Belfast yesterday.
Ireland coach Tom Tierney during training in Belfast yesterday.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

IRELAND HEAD COACH Tom Tierney has made three changes for tomorrow’s Women’s World Cup fifth place semi-final clash with Australia in Belfast.

Ireland’s hopes of progressing to the semi-finals were extinguished with a heavy defeat to France in their final pool outing last week, but Tierney’s side return to action on Tuesday hoping to finish the tournament on a high.

Louise Galvin, Cliodhna Moloney and Ciara Cooney are all drafted into the starting XV, with Eimear Considine, Leah Lyons and Sophie Spence dropping out from the last day.

It means a third successive start for Nicole Cronin at scrum-half while Galvin, Hannah Tyrrell and Ali Miller make up the back three.

Lindsay Peat, Moloney and Ailis Egan are named in the front row while Cooney and Marie-Louise Reilly renew their second row partnership. The back-row sees Ciara Griffin start at 6, Paula Fitzpatrick at number eight and captain Claire Molloy at openside flanker.

“Since arriving in Belfast on Friday the squad have had some down time and settled well into the city and training has been very positive,” Tierney said.

“We know what the Australians will bring to the game tomorrow, and we will have to be ready to match their physicality from the start.

“We’ve reviewed our own games and looked at areas where we can improve in both attack and defence.

“There is huge pride in this team and we’re looking to finish this tournament with two performances.”

The game kicks off at 2pm and is live on RTÉ 2 and eir Sport.

Ireland (v Australia):

15. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
14. Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Harlequins FC)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere RFC/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
9. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
4. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
5. Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol RFC/Connacht) Captain
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

16. Leah Lyons (Highfield RFC/Munster)
17. Ilse Van Staden (Cooke RFC/Ulster)
18. Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
19. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
20. Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians RFC/Munster)
21. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
22. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
23. Claire McLaughlin (Cooke RFC/Ulster)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘He’s a proven leader’ – Ulster announce the capture of Australian out-half Lealiifano

English out-half Flood considering switch of allegiance to Germany

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel