Ireland's William Porterfield and Noel O'Brien facing India in 2011. INPHO/Sportzpics

Ireland drawn in tough group for 2015 Cricket World Cup

The ICC announced the pools and fixtures for the finals, which takes place in Australia and New Zealand in two years’ time.

IRELAND WILL MEET world champions India at the 2015 Cricket World Cup after being drawn in Pool B this morning.

Phil Simmon’s men, who qualified with a tie against the Netherlands earlier this month, have also been grouped with South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies and Zimbabwe with one more team still to qualify.

Hosted by Australia and New Zealand, who have been drawn in the same group, the tournament begins on February 14 with New Zealand facing Sri Lanka before England take on Australia. Ireland open their account two days later against the West Indies in Nelson.

Out of Ireland’s six matches, two will take place in New Zealand with the other four in the Australian cities of Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart and Adelaide.

Pool A: England, Australia (co-host), Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand (co-host), Qualifier 2 (TBD), Qualifier 3 (TBD)
Pool B: South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland, Qualifier 4 (TBD)

Ireland’s fixtures

Monday, 16 February
West Indies V Ireland
Saxton Oval, Nelson, New Zealand

Wednesday, 25 February
Ireland V Qualifier 4
The Gabba, Brisbane, Australia

Tuesday, 3 March
South Africa V Ireland
Manuka Oval, Canberra, Australia

Saturday, 7 March
Zimbabwe V Ireland
Bellerive Oval, Hobart, Australia

Tuesday, 10 March
India V Ireland
Seddon Park, Hamilton, New Zealand

Sunday, 15 March
Pakistan V Ireland
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, Australia

Been there, done that… now Kieran Behan plans to get even better

Going for gold: the 11 athletes who will represent Ireland at the World Championships

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.