This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 12 November, 2019

Coleman and Doherty picked to start as Mick McCarthy names Ireland team to face Gibraltar

Ireland get their Euro 2020 qualifying campaign underway against Gibraltar at Victoria Stadium this afternoon.

Doherty will play in midfield for Ireland.
Doherty will play in midfield for Ireland.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

THE IRELAND TEAM that will face Gibraltar has been announced, with Mick McCarthy preparing to take charge of his first game as national team boss in 17 years.

There are few surprises as both Seamus Coleman and Matt Doherty are named to start — the Everton skipper alongside Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh and Enda Stevens at the back.

In midfield, Jeff Hendrick partners Conor Hourihane in the middle of the park with James McClean on the left and Doherty named on the right. Sean Maguire partners David McGoldrick up front, with Darren Randolph between the sticks.

Kick-off for this afternoon’s game is at 5pm at Victoria Stadium.

IRELAND TEAM: Darren Randolph, Seamus Coleman, Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh, Enda Stevens; Matt Doherty, Jeff Hendrick, Conor Hourihane, James McClean; Sean Maguire, David McGoldrick.

Substitutes: Keiren Westwood, Mark Travers, Glenn Whelan, Robbie Brady, Jack Byrne, Aiden O’Brien, John Egan, James Collins, Alan Judge, Josh Cullen, Kevin Long, Harry Arter.

Murray Kinsella and Andy Dunne dissect Ireland’s disappointing Six Nations campaign, and discuss the pros and cons of rugby’s new law proposals in the latest episode of The42 Rugby Weekly:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel