©INPHO/Presseye/Darren Kidd
Numbers Game

Irish Open in numbers: the facts and figures you need to know

Put on your nerd hat and join us for a potted numerical history of the tournament.

1 - The amount of times Royal Portrush has hosted the Open Championship, one of golf’s four majors. Max Faulkner won here in 1951.

3 - Nick Faldo won the Irish Open in three consecutive years from 1991-93, the only player to do so. Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie and the late Seve Ballesteros also have three tournament wins each but not in consecutive years.

10 - The number of former major winners in this year’s Irish Open field: Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell, Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, Jose Maria Olazabal, Rich Beem, Michael Campbell, Keegan Bradley, John Daly and Paul Lawrie.

11 - The lowest round under-par shot in a single round at the Irish Open, scored by Graeme McDowell in County Louth in 2009.

19 - Years and 176 days, the age Sergio Garcia was when he won the Irish Open at Druid’s Glen in 1999, the youngest winner yet.

21 - Under-par, the lowest winning score, shot by Christy O’Connor at Woodbrook in 1975 and by Bernhard Langer at Royal Dublin in 1984.

22 - The Irish Open was not played for 22 years between 1953 and 1975. The “Carroll’s International” was played in Ireland between 1963 and 1974 but the “Irish Open” name was not revived until 1975 at Woodbrook.

41 - Years and 319 days, the age of the oldest winner yet — Sam Torrance at Mount Juliet in 1995.

61 - The course record at Royal Portrush, shot by 16-year-old Rory McIlroy while an amateur during the North of Ireland Championship in 2005.

72 - Par on the famous Dunluce Links course at Royal Portrush where the 2012 Irish Open will be played.

125 - Established in 1888, Royal Portrush will celebrate its 125th birthday next year.

1927 - The inaugural Irish Open was played at Portmarnock and won by Scotland’s George Duncan.

1947 - The last time the Irish Open was staged at Royal Portrush. It was also played there in 1930 and 1937.

6,843 - The total yardage of the Dunluce Links course this week.

100,000 - The expected attendance over the four days of the competition, making the 2012 Irish Open the first sell-out event on the European Tour.

2,600,000 - The total purse for this year’s Irish Open in euro, an increase of €450,000 on last year’s purse. 2011 winner Simon Dyson took home a first prize cheque for €250,000.