This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 24 January, 2019

Sean O'Brien ruled out of Junior World Cup, Jack O'Donoghue made U20 captain

Harrison Brewer and Ian Fitzpatrick have also been called up to the squad as injury replacements.

Jack O'Donoghue displayed his powerful ball-carrying during the Six Nations.
Jack O'Donoghue displayed his powerful ball-carrying during the Six Nations.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

WATERFORD’S JACK O’DONOGHUE will captain the Ireland Under 20s this summer after Galwegians lock Sean O’Brien pulled out through injury.

O’Brien is one of three withdrawals from the 28-man squad and misses out due to “ongoing treatment” to an ankle injury, says and IRFU statement this morning, and is replaced by Oisin Heffernan.

The other two late call-ups for the tournament in New Zealand which starts next week are Harrison Brewer and a seventh Lansdowne representative in Ian Fitzpatrick.

Tenenure centre Brewer is back in the fold due to an ankle injury sustained by Peter Robb while Fitzpatrick is the beneficiary of the knee injury picked up by Ulster fullback David Busby in training.

TG4 will broadcast coverage of Ireland’s fixtures in Pool B as well as the semi-finals and finals.

Ireland face France on June 2, Wales on June 6 (both KO 6.35AM Irish time) and Fiji on June 10 (KO 2.35AM) with the semi-finals taking place on June 15 (from 6AM) with the final at 8.35AM on June 20.

Here’s the revised squad in full (*denotes uncapped U20 internationals).

Max Abbott (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Rory Burke (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Ross Byrne (UCD – Leinster)
Harrison Brewer (Terenure College – Leinster)
Denis Coulson (Lansdowne – Leinster)
William Dardis (UCD – Leinster)*
Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster – Munster)*
Dylan Donnellan (UCD – Leinster)*
Peter Dooley (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians – Connacht)*
Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster – Munster)
Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Josh Murphy (UCD – Leinster)
Nick McCarthy (UCD – Leinster)
Conor McKeon (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Ross Molony (UCD – Leinster)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemian – Munster) Capt
Garry Ringrose (UCD – Leinster)
Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
Peadar Timmins (UCD – Leinster)
Craig Trenier (Terenure – Leinster)*
Alex Wootton (Garryowen – Munster).

Will we ever see the impulsive, electric likes of Brian O’Driscoll again?

This iPad app allows Munster and the Lions to review their video analysis

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: