This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 4 August, 2020

2 changes for Galway hurlers as free-scoring forward ruled out with broken finger

Jason Flynn will play no part in the Leinster semi-final against Laois in Tullamore.

Jason Flynn is ruled out with a broken finger.
Jason Flynn is ruled out with a broken finger.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

JASON FLYNN HAS been ruled out of tomorrow’s Leinster SHC semi-final against Laois in Tullamore with a broken finger.

The Tommie Larkins man formed one-third of a full-forward line that scored 5-15 against Dublin at O’Connor Park almost two weeks ago.

Handed free-taking responsibilities in the replay against the Sky Blues, Flynn responded with 0-9, including seven points from placed balls.

Niall Healy takes his place at corner forward and there is one other alteration as Joseph Cooney loses out.

In the reshuffle, David Burke earns a start after two substitute appearances against Dublin.

He’s named in the half-forward line, with Andrew Smith moved to midfield to partner Aidan Harte.

Laois boss Seamus ‘Cheddar’ Plunkett has also announced his team, which also shows two changes.

In attack, Ben Conroy and PJ Scully are named ahead of Dwayne Palmer and Stephen ‘Picky’ Maher.

Throw-in at O’Connor Park is at 5pm.


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
4. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
3. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)

5. David Collins (Liam Mellowes)
6. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan)
7. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)

8. Andrew Smith (Portumna)
9. Aidan Harte (Gort)

10. David Burke (St Thomas’s)
11. Cyril Donnellan (Padraig Pearses)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Joe Canning (Portumna)
15. Niall Healy (Craughewell)


1. Eoin Reilly (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix)

2. John A Delaney (Clough Ballacolla)
3. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)
4. Brian Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)

5. Joe Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill)
6. Matthew Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
7. Tom Delaney (Clough Ballacolla)

8. Joe Campion (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)
9. Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)

10. Tommy Fitzgerald (Portlaoise)
11. Zane Keenan (Camross)
12. Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill)

13. Ben Conroy (Slieve Bloom)
14. Willie Hyland (Clough Ballacolla)
15. PJ Scully (Borris-in-Ossory-Kilcotton)

‘From a community point of view, it is a pity that NAMA couldn’t do something’ – Dubs stadium bid

Kerry ladies football, UL basketball and now part of Irish rugby’s 7s bid to get to Rio

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: